| Author |  | 
      
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 23 March 2009 at 11:28am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  The S7/B5 Aqaaran card reads: -When on terrain is considered a base(may move during allocation) The R/T2 Astroid Shield reads: -Played to a ship -Terrain must be destroyed before the ship can be damaged. -Does not block structural damage. If my Aqaaran Ship has an Astroid Sheild on it, will it still protect my Aqaaran when it moves to terrain and becomes a base. If not will it stay with my unit when the S7 becomes a ship again? Later Dan | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I smell a loophole!
           | Posted: 24 March 2009 at 8:23am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Technically, according to the letter of the law, no the Asteroid Shield will cease to protect the Aqaaran unit when it becomes a base.
 
 But, the Asteroid Shield was created before the Aqaarans, and we didn't think of it.
 
 Doesn't make much sense, so if you wanted a house rule that stated it does, I would fully support that.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          I would argue the ruling that would make the asteroid shield cease to exist.   My ruling would be "yes it still protects the card".  It would be the question of wording on the card.  The asteroid shield is played to a ship card.... the aquuaraan s/b is still a ship card but it "considered" a base.  This was always simuliar arguments to the Vekteran T/B cards that is played and damaged as terrain but for all other purposes is a base.  The T/B specifies when it is or isnt the S/B does not..   at least in my opinion at this time.
           | Posted: 28 March 2009 at 7:55am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 28 March 2009 at 8:40am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Hello all Well we have a game today and the Aqaarans will be asking for a house ruling on the Astroid Shield. This affects other such cards like the Future Ship. My suggestion will be that, if the play occurs while the Aqaaran is in space and not on terrain, the card is still legal and fubctional when the Aqaaran moves to terrain and becomes a base. Do you think that, if I play a Future Ship on the Aqaaran while in space, that it becomes a Future Aqaaran ship, which includes it being a base at times with the Future Ship still functioning? Sorry for all the Aqaaran questions....Dan 
 Edited by Blacklassie on 28 March 2009 at 8:42am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          yes, the Future Ship would still function even as a base. As long as it was legal to play when originally played.
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 11:06am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          The R/T2 has other problems though. According to the rules on the card, it protects against more than weapons damage. Hazard, Monster, etc.
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 11:07am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I think I mentioned this in another thread.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          
           | Posted: 02 April 2009 at 1:02pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Hey Geko, ifyou got some of them R/T2 I'll take'em..... The ones I have don't protect against hazard monster.... Asteroid shield/occassionally a low mass asteroid could be pushed and used as a physical shield/ -played to a ship./ -Terrain must be destroyed before the ship can be damaged./ -does not block direct structural damage./ -may not be the basis of a stack.   | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          "Terrain must be destroyed before the ship can be damaged."
           | Posted: 02 April 2009 at 2:08pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 not damaged by weapons, just damaged.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 04 April 2009 at 11:31am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Wow...we have been using the old Astroid Shield that allow them to be the base of a stack. We had a palyer not long ago that played an Exogeologist to one and a base on another. We spent most of the game trying to fix those problems. :l Have a good day.....Dan | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          Yes, Asteroid Shields cannot be the basis of a stack otherwise life gets messy and complicated.
           | Posted: 04 April 2009 at 11:38am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 There are, however, ways to make terrain defend the sector HQ and that can be a bit hard to deal with.
 
 J--
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          just include two heavies more in every volly that you shoot at an opponent ship. :)
           | Posted: 06 April 2009 at 11:20am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 And, no, it should not protect against anything other than a weapons volley.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |