| Author |  | 
      
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 19 July 2009 at 10:21am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Hello all We have had another arguement so here goes. The card reads: -Allows another terrain card of any strength to be played to this card. The two cards are treated as one, combining their strength points and output. Question one: Can a T/B Vektrean base be played to this terrain card? Question two: If it can be played to the T10, do they combine their strengths and do the shields on the T/B protect the T10? I would like as many replys as possible. Thanks ahead ot time. Dan | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          i believe the T/B base can, cuz it is treated as a terrain.  and the shields should protect it.  if ya wanna make it really interesting, put an A10 artificial landmass on it.  then you can have a nice stack going, although, it is time spindle bait lol
           | Posted: 19 July 2009 at 12:10pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          A T/B could not be played to the star, because according to the card/rules
           | Posted: 20 July 2009 at 3:38pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  it is clearly stated that a T/B is only PLAYED and damaged as if it were a
 terrain card, it is a BASE for all other purposes.
 
 You cannot also play an A10 Artificial Landmass to a T/B either, because
 again, they are bases, not terrain.  On the other hand, while a little
 redundant, an E10 Subspace Stabilizers on a T/B can be pretty fearsome...
 add an E9 Shroud to that and you've got a pretty nasty base that is very
 hard to dispose of.  Even better, put a Base Commander or a Tactical
 Officer on it and now it protects your sector HQ as well.
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 20 July 2009 at 3:40pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          we've always had the same type of argument.  Eventually we came to the conclusion "NO" because of the treaeted as a base clause.  and all this before the T/B 10 flag came out.
           | Posted: 21 July 2009 at 2:43am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          The logic of all this has already been hashed out in another thread I started
           | Posted: 21 July 2009 at 3:06am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  here about whether or not an O10 Planetary Destruction can take out a
 T/B.  The final ruling was that it cannot because T/B's are bases and not
 terrain.  Same reason the A10 Arti-landmass can't be played to one.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          hmm ill have to ask the other people in my group, i thought we played it that way.  cuz technicall it is a terrain, but a base for all other purposes, if i remember right.  so maybe we played it that way, but didnt use the sheilds.  ill have bignea read this once, see what he says.
           | Posted: 21 July 2009 at 3:09pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 21 July 2009 at 3:39pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Matchbox wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | cuz technicall it is a terrain, ... |  |  |  
 No, it is a base.  It's just played and damage as if it were a terrain card.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          i guess thats one thing to get rid of too if this game is gunna go on or whatever. the cards like that, its either a terrain or a base, or make it so it can be damaged as both, not just one or the other.
           | Posted: 24 July 2009 at 3:30pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          Yeah; the rules for the Asteroid Bases would have been so much clearer if they'd just read:
           | Posted: 24 July 2009 at 3:38pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 B7 Vektrean Asteroid Base
 - Must be played independently
 - Structure can only be damaged by Heavy Weapons
 
 
 You'd have 99.5% of the same effect without all of the confusion and bull-pop.
 
 
 Edited by ericbsmith on 24 July 2009 at 3:39pm
 
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          You forgot to add: "May be played during turn 1".
           | Posted: 25 July 2009 at 1:27pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Of course, this is our interpretation; since they're played as if they were
 terrain, we allow them to be played on turn 1.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          
           | Posted: 27 July 2009 at 1:07pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  According to Galactic Fire issue number two on page 13 concerning Vektrean bases:  "You can play a Vektrean asteroid base to a star because it is played as terrain, but you may not play a white dwarf to the Vektrean asteroid base because it is a base for purposes othe than being played and damaged." On the same page under "combined" it says, "Whenever two or more cards become combined, they are treated as one card of the appropriate type.  The strengths of the two cards are added to determine the strength of the combined card.  Any shields and weapons are considered added together, forming one set of weapons and one shield." Now, since it CLEARLY states that a Vektrean asteroid starbase may be played to a star, and in light of all of the above, why is a Vektrean T/B 9 Starbase played to a T10 Massive Star NOT treated as a strength of 19?  I feel that "it's a base for all other purposes" is true but has nothing to do with how it is PLAYED and DAMAGED which of course is as terrain.  Please explain it to me because what I have read so far does nothing to address the actual rules we have. | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          My understanding is that information in galactic fire was published before
           | Posted: 27 July 2009 at 2:12pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Universe was published, which tied up all those loose ends.
 
 So according to the wording on the card in the Universe edition, which is
 what you're supposed to go by as it is the most recent version of the rules,
 Vek bases were changed from T to T/B.  That was when it was changed
 that they were a base and not a terrain.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I believe, GF#1 came out in June of 1996. That means that Universe Edition came out first.
           | Posted: 27 July 2009 at 2:26pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 The rules found in GF#1-#3 would be the most current rules.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Okay then; it would seem there is an order of play precedent to be
           | Posted: 27 July 2009 at 5:18pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  considered here.  If there is a terrain in play that can have another
 terrain played to it, then the T/B could be played to that terrain,
 because they are played as if they were a terrain.  However, if the T/B is
 already in play, terrain cards that can be played to other terrain cards
 cannot be played to the T/B because it has already been played and is
 now a base.
 
 Otherwise, this doesn't seem to change anything that hasn't already
 been discussed here.
 
 The only question this raises is the oft debated question of how the O10
 Planetary Destruction would affect a T/B combined with a terrain card.
 It's already been established the T/B is not destroyed by the O10.
 Would being combined make it then susceptible to it, or would it merely
 destroy the terrain it is combined with and ignore the T/B?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          "Whenever two or more cards become combined, they are treated as one card of the appropriate type.  The strengths of the two cards are added to determine the strength of the combined card."
           | Posted: 28 July 2009 at 7:41am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          well then, canyou combine a T with a T/B.. they are different if you want to split hairs!
           | Posted: 28 July 2009 at 1:24pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          If the T/B is already in play, no, you can't.
           | Posted: 28 July 2009 at 1:38pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 But, if the T is in play and you are adding the T/B to it, yes.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 29 July 2009 at 2:22am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Gekonauak wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | "Whenever two or more cards become combined, they are treated as one card of the appropriate type.  The strengths of the
 two cards are added to determine the strength of the combined card."
 
 
 |  |  |  
 Well, I'd say then that the order of play takes precedence here, so if a T/B
 was played to a terrain card, it would seem the T/B is now just a T.  Hm.
 Not sure I like that ruling.  But, the reasoning does follow, so, oh well.  I'll
 have to remember not to combine them with any terrain cards.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          So if you combine a T/B with the T10, is the resulting combination a T or a
           | Posted: 07 August 2009 at 3:56pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  B?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 07 August 2009 at 3:59pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Hello all In our group we have decided that you can play the T/B to the T10 but it does not combine. It protects the T10. That's how we are doing it. Dan | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          i think this is how we were handling it.
           | Posted: 10 August 2009 at 7:44am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 but, whatever you decide in your own group is probably the best.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          I polled two more players in our "group" - one agreed with my interpretation and one agreed with Blacklassie's.
           | Posted: 11 August 2009 at 10:19am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 11 September 2009 at 10:49am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  The card reads: R/S1 Base Relocation Tug May move one base from one terrain to another each turn. When played in reaction the Base Relocation Tug is played in the engaged position. I have always wanted a Vektrean T/B to play to regular terrain. Can this Tug move a Vektrean T/B from the T10 Super Massive Star to,say a Reactionary World? Dan   | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          I think it would.  It is a base "for all other purposes"; so they card that allows a base to be moved should be able to.
           | Posted: 19 September 2009 at 8:30am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          I'll agree with dizzydemon; however, since neither the Vektrean Asteroid Base nor the Reactionary World have any rules on them allowing them to combine, when the Vektrean Base is moved to the Reactionary World it would become a base played to a terrain.
           | Posted: 19 September 2009 at 8:37am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Well, actually, the T4 does say that it cannot be combined.
           | Posted: 21 September 2009 at 2:34pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |