| Author |  | 
      
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Hi all,
           | Posted: 31 October 2008 at 2:59pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 If I put a Dragon on a terrain, and then plop a planetary shield on that
 same terrain, does the planetary shield protect the Dragon from weapons
 fire?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Would it protect a ship?
           | Posted: 03 November 2008 at 8:15am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          I don't know.  That is why I'm asking.  There are some terrain that say their
           | Posted: 03 November 2008 at 9:47pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  shields specifically protect ships on the terrain, but they are not planetary
 shields.  Generally we play that planetary shields have to be take down
 before other bases on a terrain can be targeted.
 
 That's the rub.  Isn't it a general assumption that planetary shields protect
 anything on the planet?
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 03 November 2008 at 9:48pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          Planetary Shields have no special rules save those on the Planetary Shield card itself.
           | Posted: 04 November 2008 at 7:12am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 A Base's shields (and in fact it's structure) protect the Terrain it's played to from weapons fire - the Terrain may not be targeted with weapons fire while a base is played to it. A Bases shields do not protect ships on the terrain, nor do they protect the Terrain from Card Damage (unless a card rule allows them to).
 
 Most (but not all) Planetary Shields have rules on them that allow them
to absorb some other damage applied to the Terrain (M, H, & O for some, "all damage" for others).
 
 Dragons are a subset of Ships, and act as a ship in most regards, including this one. A Bases shields do not protect a ship or dragon played to the terrain unless a rule on a card in play allows it's shields to protect the Dragon.
 
 A Terrains Shields only protects the terrain itself from damage; they don't protect other cards played to them unless another rule allows them to (i.e. the T6 Dragon Lair has a rule which allows it's shields to protect a dragon played to it so long as there is another Dragon Lair in play).
 
 
 
 Edited by ericbsmith on 04 November 2008 at 7:13am
 
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  |