| Author |  | 
      
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Hi folks,
           | Posted: 24 April 2004 at 6:26pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Here's another thorny rules question I would like to get opinions on.
 
 If a ship with a C10 Legendary Officer fires at a ship or a Dragon/ess, can
 an R/L6 Lucky Maneuver be played on the ship or Dragon that is the
 target of the fire?
 
 While the card text on the Legendary Officer says that fire from the ship
 may not be modified, the card text on the Lucky Maneuver says : Allows
 the ship on which it is played to ignore an entire opponent volley.
 Discarded after use.
 
 (Please remember that Dragons are treated as ships for purposes of
 dealing and receiving damage.)
 
 Now, is the action of avoiding the volley separate from the action of
 the ship with the Legendary Officer firing it's weapons?  If they are two
 separate actions, wouldn't the Lucky Maneuver effect only the ship or
 Dragon that is the target of the fire, and not be effecting the ship with the
 officer that is firing it's weapons?  As a result, wouldn't that then mean
 the action of firing the ship's weapons isn't being interfered with or
 modified?
 
 As an example of this difference, would an R/L2 Phaser Malfunction
 constitute modifying the firing of the ships weapons where as the Lucky
 Maneuver would not?
 
 What do you all think?
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Geko IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 257
 | 
          
           | Posted: 30 April 2004 at 9:05am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  The Lucky Manuever is still negatively modifying the weapons fire. It is allowing the ship (or dragon) to ignore the volley. Effectively reducing the damage to zero. Yes, this is powerful, but the Legendary Officer IS a C10 after all. 
 __________________
 Andrew Smith
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          I'm not so sure Geko. The fire isnt being modified.  So the lengendary officer forgot his glasses and shot in the wrong direction. the fire continues but not in the right place.  But as you stated .... He is an C10....  I mean when I ws in the army I was an excellent shot. 39/40 hits.... Once i hit 5/40.. someone had adjusted my weapon... but the cluster of shots was still pretty tight, just not on target..LOL
           | Posted: 01 May 2004 at 6:55am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Geko IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 257
 | 
          One thing I always did when making rules decisions was to give the Entity the benefit of the doubt so to speak. Whenever the was a rules question involiving an Entity, the Entity usually won out.
           | Posted: 03 May 2004 at 7:01am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 Andrew Smith
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galactus1 Admin Group
 
  
 
 Joined: 01 October 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          My gut reaction and two cents is as follows.
           | Posted: 04 May 2004 at 6:01pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 The volley is not being reduced/modified, it is being ignored. The
volley stiill uses the weapons the attacking player allocated, just
none of them affect the target. Another distinction to be made is that
most of the card that negatively effect a volley target the opponents
ship not the ship being shot at which I think places Lucky Manuever is
a different category.
 
 If that was all the legendary officer did I would agree with Geko that
that would be cheating an entity but he also produces 4 command points,
reduces the supply cost of the fleet by 4 and his location stack is
returned to hand when it would normally be destroyed (except officer
which goes to discard pile).
 
 And he only protects weapons fire from his location not an entire
volley. I would say his intent was to stop cards like heavy weapons
backfire, phaser malf, etc. that target a location not a volley.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galactus IRC
 
  
 Site Administrator
 
 Joined: 25 April 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 181
 | 
          We have played it that if the card or card action attempts to modify the
           | Posted: 21 April 2007 at 11:44pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  volley or the source of the volley then it fails.  If you are attempting to
 modfiy the location of the intended attack...you have a chance, You can time
 skip your self out of harms way...or a lucky maneuver or maybe an R/L10
 Emergency Evacuation might work...(move the intended target to another
 location entirely). I think an R/E6 Distortion Generator would also work
 here....your thoughts on this Bullington???
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          I think what Galactus means to say here is that we have been treating this
           | Posted: 22 April 2007 at 12:23am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  situation with the "to your fleet/against your opponent fleet" distinction.
 Cards that would be played to the Legendary Officer's location, his ship,
 base, whatever, get negated.  Cards played to the target, such as a Lucky
 Maneuver, etc. are not negated as they are not played against the C10's
 fleet or unit.  I think in the case of the R/E6 it would work just fine
 because it's not played against the C10's location or against his fleet.
 
 PS: One of my favorite things to do with the Legendary Officer is give him
 an R/A2 Premonition (it's a useful placeholder), so that when you have to
 discard him to recover his stack, you then play the Premonition and take
 the Legendary Officer back into your hand.  I've done this to Galactus, on
 more than one occasion; it was fun watching the steam come out of his
 ears... :D
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galactus IRC
 
  
 Site Administrator
 
 Joined: 25 April 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 181
 | 
          Thanks...that is what is was trying to convey...as for the steam out of my
           | Posted: 26 April 2007 at 4:10pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  ears...when are you coming up for another THRASHING?!?!?
 
 :)
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | super jew Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 December 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 9
 | 
          the lucky manever goes off it is not a -ly modifying the volley.
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 11:37am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 1:12pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Galactus wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | We have played it that if the card or card action attempts to modify the volley or the source of the volley then it fails. If you are attempting to
 modfiy the location of the intended attack...you have a chance, You can time
 skip your self out of harms way...or a lucky maneuver or maybe an R/L10
 Emergency Evacuation might work...(move the intended target to another
 location entirely). I think an R/E6 Distortion Generator would also work
 here....your thoughts on this Bullington???
 
 
 |  |  |    Just 1 note, you can't time skip your self or your own fleet card, it's on an opponent card or fleet. I think reduce or modify a volley would be playing a card on the officer location that affects the volley or using like the L/3 unlucky targeting on your location, reducing the volley by so many points. Using the manuever or the mentioned R/E6 just ignores the volley. just my 2 cents | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          bignea there is that hazard card that can do that, only to your fleet in reaction,  where you have to pay the 5 research to get rid of it, but yeah the O/R1 time skip cant be played to your cards.
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 1:55pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Time Trap
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 2:29pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          yeah thanks   thats it.
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 4:42pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Ok, so, we resurrected a really old question to answer it the way it would have logically been decided at a Tournament.
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 10:29pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Cards like Lucky Maneuver are exempt from the Leg.Off's effect.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 11:25am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| werewolflht65 wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Ok, so, we resurrected a really old question to answer it the way it would have logically been decided at a Tournament.
 Cards like Lucky Maneuver are exempt from the Leg.Off's effect.
 
 |  |  |  
 That is how we play it.  We made that ruling based on the played to vs.
 played against distinction.  Cards played against the LO's ship are negated,
 but those played to your own fleet aren't subject to the LO's ability.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |