| Author |  | 
      
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          If I use my tactical officer to move my time capsule back into my hand, what
           | Posted: 08 November 2007 at 9:29pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  happens to the cards under/in the time capsule?
 What about if I use a transgate to move the whole stack back into my hand?
 
 Opinions sought and justly paid for.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          well first off  you could not move the time capsule back into your hand.  The Tactical officer can only move one card back into his hand and that card cannot be the basis of a stack.  And as for the transgate, if it works like those on the ship, I think the whole stack can be moved back to the hand.
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 2:50am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          I'm not sure the cards and the time capsule under it are considered a
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 3:00am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  stack.  The normal definition of a stack is a card or card with other cards
 played to it.  With the time capsule, the cards are not played to it, they are
 placed under it and are not in play.
 
 I would think if the time capsule is moved back to the hand by the Tac
 Officer, the cards under it would be discarded, because now they have
 nowhere to be.  It would be the same as if you blew up the planet the time
 capsule was on... the time capsule would be discarded with the terrain,
 and since there's no more time capsule, the cards under it would be
 discarded as well.
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 09 November 2007 at 3:01am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Neither of these (Tactical or Transgates) works, because if you read the Time Capsule, if specifically says both Time Capsule and cards under it are considered Out of Play.
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 6:52am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 So, for all intents and purposes, the cards are in Cleveland. When the final turn clicks, the time cap is discarded and the cards are placed into the hand.
 
 Enjoy!
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          Here's the text I see:
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 7:44am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 An ancient time capsule is activated.  {really, the flavor text could use some more spice on most cards}
 - Played to a location.   {hmmm... J'Xar jumpship looks nice}
 - Move a number of unexposed cards equal to the time capsule's strength, from the deck to the time capsule card.  {making a stack basis?}
 - Place cards into hand during the Engagement Phase 4 turns later.
 - Destroyed (along with unexposed cards) by destruction of the location.
 - Discarded after use.
 
 I'm not sure if there is any errata for this.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I would think if the time capsule is moved back to the hand by the Tac
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 8:48am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Officer, the cards under it would be discarded, because now they have
 nowhere to be.
 
 This is how it should be played. If the cards do not read that the unexposed cards are considered out of play, then there should be FAQ somewhere to that effect.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          I stand corrected. There is no Errata for the time capsule, on this site or in any GF.GI mags I own, and I have most of them.
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 8:56am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 So, I am forced to reverse my previous decision. If played on a ship that can be returned to your hand (or any unit that undergoes a Tactical Retreat) then the time capsule and the cards under it would go to your hand.
 
 A nice idea, that I may actually try.. :)
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          well if the time capsuleis located on the ship then when the transgate puts the ship back into the hand, the whole stack goes.  I still say the Tac Off cannot bring the capsule back because the stack rule.  And the E4 time capsule is only 3 turns, the E6 is 4.. in case you did not know.
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 3:31pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          
           | Posted: 09 November 2007 at 9:38pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Wolf in another thread wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | ... As for the Time Capsule issue, No, even with a Tactical officer, you can't
 return the capsule and it's cards to your hand. If the capsule leaves play (ie:
 returns to your hand) the cards under it are discarded.
 
 Similarly, if you played the TC to a ship, the only way to get all of the cards
 to your hand would be with the R/O-5 Tactical Retreat, because of the
 wording on retreat.
 |  |  |  
 Any opinions on whether the tactical officer could move one of the
 unexposed cards to the hand?  (they aren't the basis of a stack)
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          I would rule yes, under my current understanding.  But of course it would be unviewwed because Iknowof no card that could let you view them, most spies and scout view an opponent's card/hand.
           | Posted: 10 November 2007 at 2:48am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          No, since the cards aren't there because of the TC. That would be like trying to do this: I have a T-4 planet, a C-4 Cyber mage on it, with an A-3 Automaton on the mage, and now I want to use my Tac Off to bring the mage back to my hand.
           | Posted: 10 November 2007 at 6:55am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Can't do it.
 No matter how you slice it, all of those cards are the Basis of a Stack. The TC is played atop them, and they are all stacked on a location.
 The bottom card is the basis of the ones above it, and the top one is the basis for the TC.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          Also in your example the Tac Off can recall the A3 automaton.  It is not the basis of a stack but the last card of a stack.  ok I erased my comment.  So wolfie, what you are saying is that the cards are placed under the TC and so you make the call that since they are under they are a basis but the tc is also the basis.?!#@*????
           | Posted: 10 November 2007 at 1:16pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          
           | Posted: 10 November 2007 at 5:43pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Eaglepreacher wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Also in your example the Tac Off can recall the A3 automaton.  It is not the basis of a stack but the last card of a stack.  ok I erased my comment.  So wolfie, what you are saying is that the cards are placed under the TC and so you make the call that since they are under they are a basis but the tc is also the basis.?!#@*???? |  |  |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Some Question Eaglepracher ?!#@*???? Me no Understand****
           | Posted: 10 November 2007 at 5:48pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 12:41am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Biegel wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | 
| Eaglepreacher wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Also in your example the Tac Off can recall the A3 automaton.  It is not the basis of a stack but the last card of a stack.  ok I erased my comment.  So wolfie, what you are saying is that the cards are placed under the TC and so you make the call that since they are under they are a basis but the tc is also the basis.?!#@*???? |  |  |  |  |  |  
 the problem here is, when you try to use the Tactical Officer to return the TC to your hand, the cards under it go Piff. They get discarded.
 
 The only way to get these card to your hand is to Tactical Retreat the stack. THEN you get all the cards.
 It's not a bad ploy if you can make it work.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Bottom Line: Does anyone think this could be pulled off? Looks like a table fight to me. Sounds like a lotta (and ifs) to me.
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 1:28am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Wolie now you are adding another card to the equation namely  A Tactical Retreat/ How many card plays does that make?
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 1:44am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          In theory, just two: The Time Capsule, and then the Tactical Retreat.
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 6:41am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          the tactical officer cannot pull the TC end of story at least as I see it as the TC is the basis of the stack of cards under it.  Why. because the tactical officer rules state specifically cannot pull the basis of a stack. My sortof kind of question is how can wolfie say the Tc is a basis of a stack while saying the cards under it are also a basis of the stack.  me no understand either ...
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 7:24am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 8:09am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Here's a little twist. what happens if a marine came over to kill TC, what happens to the other cards? If they go away because the cards are played to the TC, then The TC is the basis of the stack not the other cards. 
 Edited by bignea on 11 November 2007 at 8:18am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          I'd say the cards under the TC would be discarded, just as they would be if the TC were destroyed by destruction of the location.
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 8:19am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          I agree
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 8:57am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 11:09am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| bignea wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | 
 Here's a little twist. what happens if a marine came over to kill TC, what happens to the other cards? If they go away because the cards are played to the TC, then The TC is the basis of the stack not the other cards. |  |  |  
 That is correct. The cards under the TC are only there (at that location) because of the actions of the TC. If the TC goes away, everything under it (the cards it pulled, not the terrain, base or ship) goes to the trash also.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          "... from the deck to the time capsule card."
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 11:37am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I read this that the TC becomes the location of the unexposed cards.
 So wouldn't that mean that the cards are on the TC rather than under?
 making the TC the stack basis and not the unexposed cards?
 
 Makes sense really.  You want the cards in the time capsule to share fate
 with the capsule.  Making the TC the basis does this.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Exactly. If the capsule goes away, so do the cards. If you return the whole stack to your hand, you get the TC AND the cards under it.
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 2:22pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Aramax Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 July 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 390
 | 
          wow,3 pages and nobody derailed the thread,gentlemen we have a record
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 6:22pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          LOL....
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 7:11pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          
           | Posted: 11 November 2007 at 7:15pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Wolfy wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | ... you get the TC AND the cards under it. |  |  |  OK, clever players will find a way to get the whole stack back in hand, but
 why do the cards go under a TC?  I don't recall any such stacking rule.  The
 card doesn't mention this either.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          If you are refering to the destruction of the TC by a marine or other such it is simple.  The cards under it are out of play and the TC says to bring them in play after 3-4 turns.  If the TC is destroyed then all cards are destroyed since the TC is the basis of the stack.  If you wanna talk technical then with the destruction of the capsule the rules no longer apply  so how could you ever bring the cards under it in play.
           | Posted: 12 November 2007 at 4:06am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          Again, more talk of cards being under the TC.  (How many Australians are there on this forum?)  Where does that mechanic come from?
           | Posted: 12 November 2007 at 6:52am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Probably not a big deal since most of the discussion here makes sense if I just ignore this point.
 
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |