| Author |  | 
      
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Is there a card that substitutes for a card action?
           | Posted: 17 January 2008 at 10:49am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Or a Lucky Crew action?
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          
           | Posted: 17 January 2008 at 1:03pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  R/C1 crewman.... may substitute himself for another crew card which has been affected by an opponent's card play, the crewman is affected instead   - raises the strength of a bar tender by 1.   | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Yeah, that save him if it is a card play.
           | Posted: 17 January 2008 at 1:04pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 But, is there any card that saves him if it is a card action. Say a Marine coming over.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          
           | Posted: 17 January 2008 at 2:06pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  well if a marine was played to a location, just drop a marine from your hand, cuz a marine may not be at the same location as another marine. at least thats how we play.   R/A1 Perseverence - the crew to which this card is palyed amy ignore the efeects of one card action. may not be used to ignore the actions of a card played against the crew i always have that in my deck. | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          ah, that is the card I was looking for. Thanks.
           | Posted: 17 January 2008 at 2:31pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          
           | Posted: 17 January 2008 at 2:44pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  -Curious house rule that a Marine cannot be at the same location as another marine. By the cards, they can coexist they just can't do anything.  So, ergo, by not letting them be there at the same location, you are preventing the two marines from sharing a beer because they have nothing better to do. Shame on you for getting between a Marine and his beer.....Lobo | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          
           | Posted: 17 January 2008 at 7:43pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  well the C/R4 marine says...well that main rule i posted.... kill a crew card or destroy an equpiment card at any location except locations with opponent marines. so if someone tries to kill your (any crew) throw down a marine and the opponent is unable to kill it because your marine is there now.  so yeah nothing happens i guess like you said, but ive used it that way many times.  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -The marine doesn't say it's not allowed to *be* at the location, it just cannot perform its functions. Minor quibble, no worries, play as you like.....Lobo
           | Posted: 18 January 2008 at 7:54am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          well same thing, nothing would happen cuz its not allowed to.
           | Posted: 18 January 2008 at 1:44pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          
           | Posted: 18 January 2008 at 1:56pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Matchbox wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | well if a marine was played to a location, just drop a marine from your hand, because a marine may not be at the same location as another marine. at least thats how we play.   R/A1 Perseverance - the crew to which this card is played may ignore the effects of one card action. may not be used to ignore the actions of a card played against the crew i always have that in my deck. |  |  |  
 Well, this certainly solves the previous argument concerning a certain Boarding Party attacking a ship, and a marine playing in reaction to kill the BP, and a crewman stepping in to save it.
 
 I knew I was right. And I'll be sure to rub Verc's nose in it as well.
 If Harry wanted to save his BP, he needed a R/A-1 Perseverance, not the R/C-1 Crewman.
 
 
 Edited by werewolflht65 on 18 January 2008 at 1:57pm
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          not true.
           | Posted: 18 January 2008 at 1:56pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 If the Marine can't go there, you cannot play a reaction card to the action.
 
 Say, a third interested party to play a R/O2 Dream State?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          
           | Posted: 18 January 2008 at 2:02pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Gekonauak wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | not true. 
 If the Marine can't go there, you cannot play a reaction card to the action.
 
 Say, a third interested party to play a R/O2 Dream State?
 |  |  |  
 Hey Geko! Do you mind using Quotes when posting so the rest of us know what you're talking about?
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          ah, you are right, that would be a "illegal action" wouldnt it.
           | Posted: 18 January 2008 at 2:09pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          if I am replying to something other than the post right above, I certainly will from now on.
           | Posted: 18 January 2008 at 2:10pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |