| Author |  | 
      
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          I should have seen this sooner.  Spiritual Leader States: Allows All Opponent Monsters  to be affected by...... Its an Entity it overrides  the individual card rule, Particularly being that it would be the most currently played card.
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 10:20am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Edited by Biegel on 03 April 2008 at 10:25am
 
 __________________
 mostspaceman
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Not if the monster was played after the entity. Also, look at the C8 Spiritual leader. It states that research can hurt opponent monsters.
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 10:25am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Does the ability work for the C10, but not the C8? I've been playing that it works for both, but I'm curious how a tournament might have ruled it.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          That is a tricky one(played after the entity) After all it is an entity But most of all it states it Affects all monsters.CardRule... As for the C8 Spirtual Leader it states  All monsters are affected by Research Points To me that word All is the key definer. I would think that needs a Call Geko What do you think?
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 10:37am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Edited by Biegel on 03 April 2008 at 10:40am
 
 __________________
 mostspaceman
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Sounds to me like time of play would denote if the monster could be affected for either case, When I think about it
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 10:43am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 mostspaceman
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I don't think when a card is played has any effect on the ruling. How are you going to remember which was played first after a couple rounds of play in multiplayer format.
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 10:54am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 And, I don't have a copy of GI#1 in front of me, but let me tell you one thing. I wouldn't go by it for any card ruling. That came out way before Universe Edition. Probably came out around New Empires.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I would rule that the C8 does not effect "can only" monsters (including phaser eels), but the C10 can.
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 10:55am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          What if you play the C8 Spiritual adviser in reaction? That is definitely after it.
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 1:58pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 mostspaceman
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          See above.
           | Posted: 03 April 2008 at 2:20pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 
 
| Gekonauak wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I don't think when a card is played has any effect on the ruling. |  |  |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Can you show me a later update that would elimanate that rule?
           | Posted: 04 April 2008 at 6:13am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 mostspaceman
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          OK I reread all the rules looking and except for that GI issue I could not find anywhere else that the last card played takes presidence. All the newer rules in 2.0- 2.1 say the last reaction card played takes presidence. Either that was left out of the question/answer or they later just did away with it and changed it to just reaction cards. I guess the earlier writing s are worthless unless they are restated in the new rules. Am I right about that?
           | Posted: 04 April 2008 at 7:49am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 mostspaceman
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |