| Author |  | 
      
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          Two quick questions:
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 6:58pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Can you discard a card that's been removed from play (skipped, trapped,
 etc)?
 
 If my opponent skips a card I am discarding (as a reaction to my declaring it
 being discarded during the discard phase) does my card still get discarded
 after the skip expires?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          In question order, No, and Yes.
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 7:21pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Cards that are out of play, are just that, they are out of play. For all intents and purposes, that card is in Cleveland.
 
 If you designate a card for discard, and an opponent skips it out, it is discarded when the skip expires.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          I don't think you can react to discarding cards.
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 7:41pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 However, if you Trap your own ship stack to protect it from destruction, you can discard the Trap at the end of your turn to bring the stack back into play without needing to use the research.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          So if I trap my holographically simulated temporal engineer do I have to
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 8:09pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  discard him if I holographically simulate another crew?  How about if my
 tactical officer sends said temporal engineer back into my hand?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          I don't follow you.
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 8:24pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 The Tactical Officer could send the trap back to your hand, but not any cards under it.
 
 What's the text on the holographic simulate?
 
 Edit: Look at it like this. The Trap is in play, but the cards under it are out of play.
 
 
 Edited by RobPro on 12 October 2007 at 8:25pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          I'm trying to clarify the extent of the effect of the simulator's second rule.  In
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 8:57pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  particular, what if the 'simulated' crew is not there (skipped, trapped, etc) or
 back in my hand.
 
 The simulator's text:
 - Take the top most crew from the Discard Pile and place it at the
 simulator's location.
 - Any previously 'simulated' crew are placed at the bottom of the Discard
 Pile when this is done.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Well, you can skip a card or a stack, but not a card in a stack.
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 11:35pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 As far as Traps go, you'd have to trap the whole stack.
 
 It looks like the crew becomes part of the simulator's stack, or at least that's how I'd interpret it.
 
 However, I would think the Tactical Officer might be able to return it to the hand. But, since this combo requires about 5 cards to work, I don't see it being terribly unfair. Your opponents should play cards to disrupt it.
 
 Look at it this way... everyone's deck should be able to deal 25 damage to an HQ if -nothing- stops them by turn 4, maybe turn 3. If you can't prevent your opponent from doing that, or consistently outrace them, your deck design is flawed.
 
 This combo helps recur crew, but doesn't inherently end the game.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 11:41pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  I would say the crew still goes to the bottom of the discard, the time trap..etc only temp stops the card from going there and as for tac off its affect takes place at the end of your turn before you draw cards. its a card action, you would'nt be able to use it in reaction to save the crew from going to the bottom of the discard pile. I hope i understood what your looking for. | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          Well, you can skip a card or a stack, but not a card in a stack.
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 11:55pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 there was a posting saying even though you can't play occurance on dragons you can still skip the ability on the dragon, that would be a card in a stack.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          Let me try to explain the situation better:
           | Posted: 12 October 2007 at 11:58pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  1) I holographically simulate a crew back from the discard pile
 2) I trap him OR I pull him back into my hand (using tac officer)
 3) next turn I simulate another crew back from the discard pile
 
 Q1) what happens to the first crew that is not in play (either still trapped or
 in my hand) 'when this is done' at step 3
 
 Q2) what if I had put the first crew back in play (from my hand) at step 2.5?
 
 bottom line: I'm looking for a way to make simulated crew real again.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          
           | Posted: 13 October 2007 at 2:39am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Q1- first crew uder time trap is still there untill time trap is gone and goes to discard, but in hand has no effect it's not in the fleet . Q2- it would be like you just played it, no effect from holo. I kind of did a similar thing in a game a while back. I'ts a good card combo with tac officer your able to use the crew over and over. If you are lucky enough have a discard equiv in the bottom of the discard pile, lots of card draws. | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I don't think you can react to discarding cards.
           | Posted: 15 October 2007 at 9:34am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Umm... you can't. And why would you?
 
 Tarquon,
 Q1) "hiding" the previously simulate crew out of play, would work. And, no, the crew does not become part of the Simulator stack. You can actually move the crew about, just make sure to mark it as a simulation, so if you use the Simulator again, it leaves play (if it is *in* play that is)
 
 Q2) If you replay him after recalling him with a tactical officer treat him as if hey was a new crew.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          OK, that works for me.
           | Posted: 15 October 2007 at 9:53am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 BTW, you can react to discards during the discard phase (useful to remember when someone is trying to discard a quarked strength 192 garbage planet).
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Strength 192??? How the hell did it get so big??
           | Posted: 15 October 2007 at 10:52am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          Anyone remember that combo?  I'll try to dig it up tonight.
           | Posted: 15 October 2007 at 11:36am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          what makes you say that you can react to someone discarding?
           | Posted: 15 October 2007 at 3:06pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          It's in the Universe rulebook.
           | Posted: 15 October 2007 at 3:32pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 OK, I'll give a quote:
 "‑
The following things can be reacted to: Point allocation, a card being played,
a card action, weapons fire, and the discarding of cards during the Discard
Phase. "
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          huh, i didn't remember that one. I stand corrected.
           | Posted: 16 October 2007 at 7:50am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Yeah, I was re-reading it, just skimming it really, and I stumbled on that too. I was actually looking for the "what I can react to" section, with regards to the card Instant React (R/O-3). I like plinking terrain with the TAS using Instant React to let it go nuts.
           | Posted: 17 October 2007 at 9:16pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          The combo and the biggest draw in a bring-your-own-hand entity rampage event (held at tactical retreats) that I am aware of:
           | Posted: 18 October 2007 at 11:43am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  T1) play T6 garbage planet (any maybe a reactionary world)
 T2) C3 garbage collector to said planet (double garbage planet strength)
 O7 we have special plans... (to garbage collector - uses ability 5 times  = 32 times planet strength = 192 str)
 H8 Quark to planet (draw cards equal to terrain strength when it is discarded)
 and discard stack in discard phase
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Ahh.. ok.
           | Posted: 18 October 2007 at 4:59pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |