| Author |  | 
      
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Okay, I have a question.
           | Posted: 01 November 2007 at 3:51pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 The R/M3 Money Hungry Weasel says:
 -Played against the fleet with the highest economic output.
 -All other players may steal economy (during their allocation phase) from
 the affected fleet equal to the weasel's strength.
 
 So hows does this work?  Does the owning player lose the economy stolen?
 That is, it is not generated during their allocation?  And how does it work
 for pirates that can "steal their engagement" from an opponent location?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          In regards to the Weasel: Yes, all other players may steal his str in Economy points during their turns, and that economy is NOT available to the stolen player during his turn.
           | Posted: 01 November 2007 at 4:01pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 And yes, Pirates steal their engagement cost (Yes, they can convert economy to other types.) Note: There are some pirate ship cards that say they steal both engagement as well as ammunition. Only these cards can do that. All other pirates that can steal engagement, only steal the points required to get the ship engaged. Ammo needs still fall on your head.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Thanks.  Is there any place in the rule book or GF that states this?  We
           | Posted: 01 November 2007 at 4:10pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  have a player who will demand to see it in official print.
 
 The reason I ask is because I'm working on revising my Bolaar deck, and
 I'm playing with the idea of putting a weasel in, and adding a Mind Mold
 Symbionts to it to make an 8 str.  (evil grin).
 
 We've played for some time that ammunition requirements are a separate
 point allocation from engagement, so that's confirming what we've already
 been doing.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Wait for Geko to chime in, backing what I already said. Then, send that post to your printer, and print it out.
           | Posted: 01 November 2007 at 5:20pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Since he is the last still-speaking voice from the design side of GE, your friend will have no recourse but to take it for gospel.
 
 Not that it isn't, because it is, just sayin...
 
 Besides, the weasel is a half decent way of countering heavy Eco Decks, like Vek and Bolaar.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Okay, guess I'll have to wait.
           | Posted: 01 November 2007 at 5:40pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Or, it's good for decks that need economy, like Bolaar and Vektreans. :)
 
 I've got my initial revision of my Bolaar deck done, it's still bigger than I
 thought it would be.  275.  But, in the group I play in, my decks are some
 of the smallest actually.
 
 Once I've got it all written up, I'll post it and you guys can give me
 feedback on it.
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Wait for Geko to chime in, backing what I already said.
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 8:49am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 A little presumptuous, don't you think? ;)
 
 Since he is the last still-speaking voice from the design side of GE, your friend will have no recourse but to take it for gospel.
 
 Seriously, my word is not law. I was one of the senior designer for the game from Advanced Tech on, but the game has been out of print for 10 years now.
 
 Also, I am only human. I get things wrong from time to time. Comes from not actually looking things up, and relying on my memory. 10 years ago, I ate, breathed, and slept the game. Now a days, it keeps me away from surfing porn at work. ;)
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Oh, and to answer the question, it does deprive the opponent from using the economy.
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 8:54am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I took a quick look at the rulebook, but couldn't find anything. Didn't really expect to though. Piracy came out after Universe, so we didn't have everything fleshed out to include in the rulebook.
 
 Check the GFs, they might have something in them. I don't have the patience.
 
 I don't know about being able to convert economy to the resources they need. It's possible that it works that way, but check the magazines to be sure.
 
 And, if the magazines don't have anything, I say go for it. Sounds like something a pirate would do.
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Here's an example. Suppose there are four people in a game.
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 9:02am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Player A, Player B, Player C, and Player D.
 
 Player D plays the R/M3 Money Hungry Weasel on Player A. Then Player A takes his turn and uses -all- of his economy.
 
 Do player's B, C, and D have anything to steal? Does what Player B steals reduce what Player C has available to steal?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 9:26am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| RobPro wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Here's an example. Suppose there are four people in a game. 
 Player A, Player B, Player C, and Player D.
 
 Player D plays the R/M3 Money Hungry Weasel on Player A. Then Player A takes his turn and uses -all- of his economy.
 
 Do player's B, C, and D have anything to steal? Does what Player B steals reduce what Player C has available to steal?
 |  |  |  
 Since resource points are generated for YOUR use at the beginning of your turn, any points stolen from your terrain cards is simply unavailable to you.
 In this instance, as soon as player A's turn ends, the Weasel takes effect, and players B, C and D can take points from A equal to the strength of the weasel.
 On player A's next turn, assuming the weasel is still strength 3, Player A will have 9 fewer economy to use during his allocation phase then he had the previous turn.
 
 It's quite simple really. I don't see how anyone could argue this card, as it is rather well written, considering...
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          So you're saying a complete turn doesn't matter? A's terrain can be used entirely on A's turn, but B, C, and D can steal resources from A's next turn?
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 9:34am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          That's correct. Otherwise, why run the weasel.
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 11:34am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          yep.
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 12:12pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 And, if he only produces 8 economy, player D would be the player to get shorted.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          And if he makes 12 Economy, everyone gets a slice, albeit a 3 point slice.
           | Posted: 02 November 2007 at 1:20pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  :)
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Thanks for the clarification.  I'm going to make sure I put some A5 Mind
           | Posted: 04 November 2007 at 5:44pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Mold Symbionts in to go along with the Weasels. :D
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Glad we could help... I just wish other GE cards were as well worded...
           | Posted: 05 November 2007 at 6:54am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  ::points to the R/C-1 Crewman::
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          He himself is worded just fine. It is the rules of card action and card function that need a little clarification.
           | Posted: 06 November 2007 at 9:15am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          I thought we covered all the actions vs function issue already?
           | Posted: 06 November 2007 at 9:44am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Ok, time for a review: Player A plays an O-1 Illness onto Player B's Tac-Officer. Player C plays a R/C-1 Crewman in reaction, to stop the illness.
 
 By the wording on all the cards involved, this is a correct play.
 
 Now, Player A moves a boarding party via transporter to Player D's ship, to finish it off with the BP's ability.
 Player D responds by playing a R/C-4 Marine to his ship, the Marine using it's "Discard a crew or equipment card of equal or lesser strength, unless at a location with opponent marines" function, since all cards played in reaction must perform a function.
 Player A responds and plays an R/C-1 Crewman to the ship to stop the marine from killing the BP.
 
 Here is the problem: While the Illness was a Card PLAY, the BP and Marine interaction are Card ACTIONS. The BP was sent on a card action, the marine, even though played in reaction, was still only performing a card ACTION by using the function stated above, so how does the Crewman intercept this damage, since it isn't a card PLAY that is affecting the BP?
 
 The Marine wasn't played directly to the BP, he was played to the SHIP. So, in my mind, the Marine then performed a Card Action by killing the BP. The crewman could never have been played.
 
 
 Edited by werewolflht65 on 06 November 2007 at 9:46am
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          The marine was a card play.  the definition of "playing the marine in reaction" was a card played must be able to perform an action. Since the marine was played as a reaction on an opponents turn it is a card play but had you played it on your turn, it would have been a card action.....     do you see the difference?
           | Posted: 06 November 2007 at 4:04pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |