| Author |  | 
      
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          
           | Posted: 07 August 2008 at 8:07am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  If I have some hypothetical card which can do there and back missions against Lobo's ships. Is there a point during the there and back mission that I can play a reaction card? 
I announce a there and back mission to Lobo's ship.The crew along with a shuttle travel to the target during which time Lobo can target them with reactionary weapons.The crew/shuttle arrive at the target and do 1 point of damage.The crew/shuttle leave the target and fly back Lobo can again target the crew/shuttle combo.The crew/shuttle arrive back at their original location. Is there any point where I can play a reaction card in that sequence without Lobo first playing a reaction card? Specifically, something that might amplify the damage? J-- | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          
           | Posted: 07 August 2008 at 8:47am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Galaktische wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | 
 Is there any point where I can play a reaction card in that sequence without Lobo first playing a reaction card? Specifically, something that might amplify the damage? 
 J-- |  |  |  
 No, you cannot play a reaction card unless he plays one.
 
 "They cannot be played in reaction on your own turn unless reacting to an opponent's reaction card play."
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | rlpowell Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 September 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 28
 | 
          And if you do react to their reaction on your turn, it counts as a card play.
           | Posted: 07 August 2008 at 1:24pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 -Robin
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Can an R/L7 Temporal Correction discard a shuttle performing a there-and-back mission? Is a T&B considered "moving against" for the duration of its mission?
           | Posted: 07 August 2008 at 3:52pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          
           | Posted: 07 August 2008 at 10:31pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Gekonauak wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | No, you cannot play a reaction card unless he plays one.
 
 "They cannot be played in reaction on your own turn unless reacting to an opponent's reaction card play."
 |  |  |  Is this an accurate re-phrasing of your statement. The active player cannot play a reaction card during his turn except in response to a non-active player playing a reaction card. J-- | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | rlpowell Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 September 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 28
 | 
          
           | Posted: 07 August 2008 at 11:51pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Galaktische wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | The active player cannot play a reaction card during his turn except in response to a non-active player playing a reaction card. |  |  |  
 Almost:
 
 The active player cannot play a *card in reaction mode* (or a reaction ability on a card in play) during his turn except in response to a non-active player playing a reaction card.
 
 The difference is that some R/X cards can be play as a normal card of type X (i.e. not in reaction mode), and some cards have both reaction ("As a reaction, may...") and regular card abilities.
 
 -Robin
 
 Edited by Gekonauak on 08 August 2008 at 8:28am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          what she said.  :)
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 8:29am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | rlpowell Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 September 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 28
 | 
          
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 11:32am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 He, actually. :)
 
 It's a common mistake; I used to have "I'm a male Robin." in my sig.
 
 (This is why http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spivak_pronoun gender neutral pronouns are good.  :)
 
 -Robin
 
 
 Edited by rlpowell on 08 August 2008 at 11:32am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 12:22pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  -My personal views on Spivak aside, i think the comment was more wishful thinking than anything else... ...the world needs more open female gamers. Preferrably starting with my wife; if only they had conversion kits available. How did you do it Galaktische....Lobo | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 12:37pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Lucky I guess... damned lucky! J-- | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          You're a dude, dude? :)
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 12:38pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 1:28pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Lobo wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | -My personal views on Spivak aside, i think the comment was more wishful thinking than anything else... ...the world needs more open female gamers. Preferrably starting with my wife; if only they had conversion kits available. How did you do it Galaktische....Lobo |  |  |  Did I mention that I'm raising a bumper crop of female gamers? The three of them like board games, MMOs, MtG... You've heard of reverse mortgages...? I'm working on reverse dowries! :) J-- | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 6:45pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| RobPro wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Can an R/L7 Temporal Correction discard a shuttle performing a there-and-back mission? Is a T&B considered "moving
 against" for the duration of its mission?
 
 |  |  |  
 No.  The temporal correction lets you discard a card that is played
 against your fleet.  When a shuttle (or fighter) uses its card ability (to do
 the TNB), the shuttle is not being played against your fleet.  It was
 already played to the owning players fleet.
 
 Even if it was with a fighter played in reaction, and even something like
 an R/C4 Marine played with it, they are played to the owners fleet, then
 they use their card abilities.  They are not being played against your
 fleet.
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 08 August 2008 at 6:49pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          I believe it says played or in play against the fleet. My real question is does a T&B mission move against the enemy, or is it just card functions like you say?
           | Posted: 08 August 2008 at 11:51pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 10 August 2008 at 12:29am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| RobPro wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I believe it says played or in play against the fleet. My real question is does a T&B mission move against the enemy, or is it just
 card functions like you say?
 
 |  |  |  
 Regardless of whether it says played or in-play, the card still has to be
 played against your fleet.
 
 Even if you allow that a TNB is a move against your fleet, it doesn't
 matter, the card is not played against your fleet.  It was already in
 play, or just played to the owning players fleet.
 
 It's the same as if a pirate moves against your terrain to steal
 engagement; moving against your fleet is not being played against
 your fleet.  Here, "played" means from the hand, not using an ability of a
 card already in play.
 
 In either case, the temporal correction cannot be used.
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 10 August 2008 at 12:33am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          R/L7 Temporal Correction
           | Posted: 10 August 2008 at 1:57am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  When played, this card allows the owning player to discard any one card played or in play against the fleet.
 Does not block card actions.
 Discard after use.
 
 
 
| Quote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | It's the same as if a pirate moves against your terrain to steal
 engagement; moving against your fleet is not being played against
 your fleet.  Here, "played" means from the hand, not using an ability of a
 card already in play.
 
 |  |  |  
 If you read the text on the R/L7, you'll see it can discard a pirate ship moved against your fleet. The pirate ship is "in play" against your fleet.
 
 What I am asking is if a T&B mission moves the shuttle against the opponents fleet, or if it is just considered card actions. Regardless of whether the R/L7 can be played (even though I think it can be) you haven't answered that question.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -After reading various rules and GF 2, it seems the shuttle is considered to be moving "against" the opponent fleet it is transporting crew or other nasties to. The rules 2.0 and 2.1 are not crystal on that point, but the language of the GF article is quite specific. In the shuttle section, it labels the beginning steps of the there and back mission as the shuttle moving "to or against" a location to transport crew.
           | Posted: 10 August 2008 at 9:11am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Having said that, i do not believe the Temporal Correction can be played to the shuttle despite it moving against the fleet. Or, if it is allowed, would not take effect until after the there and back mission is resolved. I pulled this from a FAQ:
 
 "R/L7 Temporal Correction: The phrase "does not block card actions" 
prevents this card from being used on a card moving against the fleet to perform 
a card action. It may affect cards being played against the fleet and cards that 
were previously played against the fleet. It will also affect cards which were 
previously moved against the fleet and remained against the fleet. 
"
 
 There ya go. Bottom Line: doesn't appear the Temp Correction stops the TNB but could possibly be used in reaction after the TNB is complete. That point is not clear from the information provided/FAQs and such.....Lobo
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Ah, that clears things up. So, I don't think it could hit a T&B mission because the shuttle is no longer in the fleet by the time you're able to play it, however other cards with effects that trigger on stuff moving against the fleet may still work. That's all I wanted to know.
           | Posted: 10 August 2008 at 10:11am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 10 August 2008 at 8:34pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| RobPro wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Ah, that clears things up. So, I don't think it could hit a T&B mission because the shuttle is no longer in the fleet by the time
 you're able to play it, however other cards with effects that trigger on
 stuff moving against the fleet may still work. That's all I wanted to
 know.
 
 |  |  |  
 I suppose it depends on how "moving against" is defined.  Hadn't
 thought about it.  My initial thought is that no, it wouldn't qualify.
 
 But whereas the L7 says "in play", a pirate ship moved against your
 terrain to steal engagement would not be played against your fleet, but I
 suppose it would be considered "in play" against your fleet.  So in this
 specific case, the "moved against" distinction is irrelevant.  The card is in
 play, regardless of who's fleet it belongs to, and when moved against
 your terrain to steal engagement, or whatever, then it would be "in play
 against your fleet".
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          the L7 would be able to hit the pirate ship.
           | Posted: 11 August 2008 at 9:28am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 We actually created a card to pull your unit back from against your opponent terrain, just in case they tried this.
 
 The problem is, we created the whole moving against terms after the L7 was created.
 
 And, no, the L7 would not be able to hit the TNB mission. We created the Malfunction cards for that purpose.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Boy to have been a fly on the wall when you guys were developing this game Geko. Must have had some rousing good times disscussing all the varibles that went into this. Did anyone interject Hoyles book of odds in the developement?
           | Posted: 15 August 2008 at 5:58am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 mostspaceman
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Please remember, I did not develop the game itself. Carl was the creator.
           | Posted: 19 August 2008 at 2:49pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I just came on during Universe, and refined the game.
 :)
 
 I was lead designer on several of the later expansions (Piracy+).
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |