| Author |  | 
      
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          I had an interesting though yesterday.  Some terrain cards don't specify exactly what astronomical object they're supposed to represent.  what rulings are there for these?
           | Posted: 18 October 2010 at 12:54pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I'm not sure it matters.
           | Posted: 18 October 2010 at 12:58pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          There are some examples (that I can't remember specifically off the
           | Posted: 18 October 2010 at 8:18pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  top of my head) that have keywords such as 'system', 'star', 'planet',
 etc.  Some ability cards and other combining terrain cards specify
 they must be played to a 'system', or something like that.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          yeah, but since this card isn't marked. It doesn't apply to those circumstances. Can't have cards that specify "must be played to a system", etc.
           | Posted: 19 October 2010 at 2:50pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          I'm wondering because well.....  It's confuzzling...  Can it have moons?
           | Posted: 20 October 2010 at 2:49pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          what are you looking to specifically?
           | Posted: 20 October 2010 at 2:51pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Basically I'm asking about what Mogwai said.  Most Terrains have a category.  This and a few others aren't specified.
           | Posted: 20 October 2010 at 2:58pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          that means that you cannot use this and other cards similar in combination with cards that specify the type of terrain they effect.
           | Posted: 20 October 2010 at 2:59pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 21 October 2010 at 10:47pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| marhawkman wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I'm wondering because well.....  It's confuzzling...  Can it have moons?
 |  |  |  
 As long as it doesn't say somewhere on the card that it 'must' be
 played to a 'system' or 'star', etc. you shouldn't have any problem.  If
 it simply says 'played to a terrain card' then you're good; as long as it
 has a "T" up there in the left hand corner, it's a terrain card.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Ah, this is something I feels need to be addressed in GE2.0.
           | Posted: 22 October 2010 at 3:19pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -I'm not sure there's anything here that needs to be addressed. I can imagine certain Terrain cards that are powerful in and of themselves to such a degree that balance would call for them to be required as a stand alone i.e. not be able to have such cards played to them.
           | Posted: 23 October 2010 at 1:29pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 This would also protect them if any penalty or consequence cards required such a category. So, you have limitations such as "cannot be combined" or you eliminate the sub-category so they cannot have Ability or other beneficial/negative cards played to them that only apply to stars/systems/asteroids etc.
 
 In this case with Shin, you just don't get to play such cards to it. I'm not sure how that's a problem.
 
 Good journey.
 
 Lobo
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          
           | Posted: 25 October 2010 at 10:19am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Well, it offends my sense of order...... And it's an awkward gameplay feature. | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Actually the description fits a: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rogue_planet
           | Posted: 25 October 2010 at 10:20am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -I think i'll play my broken record here:
           | Posted: 26 October 2010 at 5:30pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 i would then encourage you to propose a house rule to your play group to assign a sub-category to it as you see fit. Nothin' wrong with that!
 
 Have a good one.
 
 Lobo
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          If the specific card you want to play to the Shinnicera specifically says
           | Posted: 27 October 2010 at 12:49am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  something like "only played to a system" then it won't work.
 But, unless it says something like that, you should be able to play it
 to the T9.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          this reminds me of another thing that popped up.  Does a protostar count as a star?
           | Posted: 29 October 2010 at 12:25pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          for what reason?
           | Posted: 03 November 2010 at 1:42pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          If the word "star" is in the title, then it counts as a star.
           | Posted: 04 November 2010 at 3:19am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          but, the word "star" is not in the title, "protostar" is.
           | Posted: 04 November 2010 at 8:11am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 That is why I am asking for an example.
 
 I don't think just because Protostar contains the word "star" within it it necessarily applies.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          
           | Posted: 05 November 2010 at 1:56pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  And thus the reason I asked... though this kinda reminds me of a question that popped up related to Martian fluxx.  "Are Humans in Black still treated as humans?' Hehhehe....  :D  hilarious huh? | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -Nothing in the faq, rules or Galactic Fires count a protostar as a star. If the rules said "Any card with '...star...' in the title", then i would agree it would count. It only states 'star' without room for derivations. I am open to being wrong, however.
           | Posted: 05 November 2010 at 3:31pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 But I think a protostar isn't actually a star, more like the beginning phases of the formation of a star. Kinda like a kid in junior high, before they get fat and republican.
 
 House rule away!
 
 Lobo
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 07 November 2010 at 1:31pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Lobo wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | ... more like the beginning phases of the formation of a star.
 
 |  |  |  
 So how does that then make it NOT a star?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          ""So how does that then make it NOT a star?""
           | Posted: 07 November 2010 at 6:16pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 -A tadpole isn't a frog, a caterpillar isn't a moth or a butterfly, quartz isn't sand, etc until other stuff happens to it...
 
 Again, open to being wrong, but the word 'protostar' is different than just 'star'. Since only 4 of us play, though, i encourage a houserule/interpretation here if you do not agree, problem solved. If you interpret it is a star, no worries.
 
 And if you had a degree in astrophysics, i'd believe you if you said it was, in fact, a star.
 
 Lobo
 
 
 Edited by Lobo on 07 November 2010 at 6:19pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          A tadpole is still the same genus and species as a frog; it has the
           | Posted: 08 November 2010 at 8:49am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  same DNA, the same genetic evolutionary history, etc.  So just
 because it has a different physical form, does that make it not a
 frog?  A human infant does not have the same physical form as an
 adolescent or adult human, it does not even have the same
 biological processes going on in its biochemistry and physiology
 as an adult, so does that make the infant a chimpanzee?
 
 Yes, the word is different, but simply because the label is
 different, does that change what it is?  Simply put, no.
 
 Here is some background info on what a protostar is:
 
 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Protostar
 
 http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-a-protostar.htm
 
 http://burro.astr.cwru.edu/stu/advanced/stars_birth.html
 
 http://www.chacha.com/question/what-is-the-difference-
 between-a-protostar-and-a-star
 
 A protostar IS a star, merely one in a different form or stage, just
 as the tadpole IS a frog, and an infant IS a human.
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 08 November 2010 at 8:50am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I see no reason why a Protostar could not be counted as a "Star" card.
           | Posted: 08 November 2010 at 9:01am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 What cards specifically deal with Stars?
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -Cut down on the caffeine. The capital letters aren't necessary.  The rest of my reply i deleted, because quite frankly i just don't care that much.
           | Posted: 08 November 2010 at 3:29pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Besides, i still win with the caterpillar and quartz examples. So there nyah.
 
 Lobo, who thinks two outta three ain't bad and that tadpoles are not frogs
 
 
 Edited by Lobo on 09 November 2010 at 8:52am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Isn't the type of sand you mentioned made of the mineral Quartz?
           | Posted: 08 November 2010 at 4:27pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          Ah, the various star cards:
           | Posted: 27 January 2011 at 10:59am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  A3 star walker
 B1 anti-starcraft
 C1 starving artist
 E8 starburst accelerator
 O4&6 starship insurance
 S- various star cruisers, etc
 TB9 Vek starbase
 TB10 Vek flagstar
 and more
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          hunh, I was pondering this again and thought "protostar is to star what cinderblocks are to cinderblock wall".
< =text/ src="https://count.carrierzone.com/app/count_/count.js">>
< =text/>
>
< =text/ src="https://count.carrierzone.com/app/count_/count_piwik.js">>
< =text/>
>
           | Posted: 02 June 2012 at 8:13pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          by game rules, no, they are not stars.
           | Posted: 15 January 2013 at 12:13pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 But, like I mentioned before, why does it matter? Both protostars are T3s that generate 3 energy. I can't think of any card combination that would make counting them as stars unbalanced.
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |