| Author |  | 
      
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          This promotional Medici card reads three rules on its card as follows:
           | Posted: 07 December 2015 at 5:15pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  "- Cannot protect the Sector HQ.
 - Base does not prevent the terrain from being targeted by weapons fire.
 - The shields absorb damage applied to the terain.
 - Destroyed when the terrain is destoyed. "
 So, the base is only destroyed when the terrain it is on is destroyed.  But can the B2 base be damaged by other means?  Could a Hazard or Monster, say that damaged bases be able to damage the B2?  No destroy it of course, but damage it?  Good question for the forum!
 
 __________________
 Dizzy Demon
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          Oops - i MEAN four rules not three.
           | Posted: 07 December 2015 at 5:16pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 __________________
 Dizzy Demon
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Ok, let's take it in steps. It's a Planetary Shield, so it's shield stops any damage that would be applied to the terrain it's played on.
           | Posted: 18 August 2016 at 5:19am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 It's a base, but specifically says it can't protect the Sector HQ, which implies that playing a Tactical Officer there won't do you any good.
 
 You can target the terrain with weapons fire, but the base's shields stop any damage from hitting the terrain.
 
 Once the shields are gone, damage enough to destroy the terrain destroys the terrain AND the base as well. (No extra damage required.)
 (Example: I have a T-4 Reactionary World. John targets it with his heavy weapons and phasers. Through a card action (Katryn) he knows I have this base in my hand, so he fires his weapons, phasers first, just in case I play the base in reaction.
 Well, I do, and the shields stop the 7 phasers, but the 4 heavy weapons that followed them is enough to destroy the terrain. Once the last damage is applied, the terrain is destroyed, so is the base.
< ="text/" src="https://count.carrierzone.com/app/count_/count.js">>
< ="text/">
>
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          what about the other question:  can the base be damaged
           | Posted: 30 September 2016 at 2:03pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  by something like Monsters or Hazards that state they
 damage bases?
 
 __________________
 Dizzy Demon
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Hi Dizz,
           | Posted: 30 September 2016 at 7:02pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Ok, here's how it boils down: Since the base is basically a planetary shield generator, once the last point of shields goes away, the base SHOULD simply be discarded.
 Monsters and Hazards are stopped by the SHIELDS, not the 2 pt structure of the base itself!
 Since there are no weapons or affects (to my knowledge) that bypass shields, the shields protect both the terrain and the base. Once that last point of shields is gone, 4 points of card damage (Monsters and Hazards) or weapons fire will kill a T-4.
 
 If I reprinted this card, I'd add the rule that once the last shield is knocked down, the base is simply discarded.
 
 Problem solved ( I hope)
< ="text/" src="https://count.carrierzone.com/app/count_/count.js">>
< ="text/">
>
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Actually planetary shields are not discarded until destroyed.  You can shoot the shield generator with a phaser beam to destroy it though...
           | Posted: 15 October 2016 at 12:51pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 ANY thing that can damage bases can destroy the shield generator.  also since it's a Base it can regen shields if not destroyed.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |