| Author |  | 
      
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          The Persona Set has many race specific fighters and earlier expansions has generic fighters.  Example R/E7 Corporate fighter 2 shields plus weapons.  With the exception of play a fighter ace to them, as per card rules and equipment rules, they are played to a unit.  Do the shields and weapons  apply to the unit, eg does my S5 with 5 shield now have 7?  Also how do you destroy the fighter if it is on a there-n-back mission?  Can i react with weapons fire from specific ships or react with a minefield or something else that causes damage... with the real question being if the fighter has 2 shields how much more damage do I need to destroy it?  With the addition of a C4 ace fighter pilot i can play the fighter independently so how much damage does it need to be destroyed?
           | Posted: 09 March 2008 at 6:08am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -Fighter doesn't add anything to shields or strength of the thing it is played on. When it goes for a there-and-back you can react by playing a reaction card or whatever other legal reaction you may have. It is now a part of the stack, but nothing more, similar to playing a Marine to the ship. Sits there and adds nothing to the ship unless and until it performs a card action.
           | Posted: 09 March 2008 at 9:49am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Hope that answers it have a good one.....Lobo
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          the way our group has played it, if there was a fighter doing a there and back mission, like an E2 transport shuttle, and you had the R/E8 assalut fighter, you can play that in reaction and blow the E2 up, thus ending the mission.
           | Posted: 09 March 2008 at 5:18pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          Ok so what are the shields for then.  and how much damage can they take beyond shielding.?
           | Posted: 28 March 2008 at 9:43pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          
           | Posted: 29 March 2008 at 8:02am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Eaglepreacher wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Ok so what are the shields for then.  and how much damage can they take beyond shielding.? |  |  |    The shields are for protection during flight or if you can play them independent to protect the HQ, the damage you take beyond the shields depends on the strength of the fighter. | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Aramax Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 July 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 390
 | 
          No you cant shoot at there and back missionsUNLESS they take place during weopons fire,in which case both the there and back and the weopons fired at them would be reactionary
           | Posted: 29 March 2008 at 11:20am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          
           | Posted: 29 March 2008 at 5:12pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Aramax wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | No you cant shoot at there and back missionsUNLESS they take place during weopons fire,in which case both the there and back and the weopons fired at them would be reactionary |  |  |  A there and back is a card action and you can shoot at the fighter with reaction fire like R/S1, although it would have to be a small fighter like the R/E1 terrain attack shutle and R/E2 transport shuttle according to the amount of fire R/S1 has. Anytime the fighter leaves the mother ship or terrain for a there and back mission he can be fired at in both a crd action or playing the fighter in reaction. | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Aramax Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 July 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 390
 | 
          I repeat weopans fire is only during weopans phase
           | Posted: 29 March 2008 at 7:54pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | bignea Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 17 May 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 124
 | 
          
           | Posted: 29 March 2008 at 10:56pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Aramax wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I repeat weopans fire is only during weopans phase |  |  |  Yes i know. But you wrote ( No you cant shoot at there and back missionsUNLESS they take place during weopons fire ) There and back missions can be fired at any time as long you have card that can fire weopons in reaction, like R/S1. | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 12 July 2008 at 2:56am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| bignea wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | 
| Aramax wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I repeat weopans fire is only during weopans phase
 |  |  |  
 Yes i know. But you wrote ( No you cant shoot at there and back 
missionsUNLESS they take place during weopons fire )
 
 There and back missions can be fired at any time as long you have card 
that can fire weopons in reaction, like R/S1.
 |  |  |  
 There and back missions require the use of a card ability, in other words,
 what is written in the card text.  Card actions take place on a card play
 phase, not the weapons fire phase.  So to say you can use an R/S1 to
 shoot at a fighter doing a TNB mission completely violates the turn
 sequence.  Logically, it's impossible.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Unless you have a card that specifically states that it can fire at an incoming TNB mission (shuttle, fighter, etc).
           | Posted: 14 July 2008 at 9:14am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 You can't.
 
 Likely, that card will also allow you to break the can only fire during the fire phase rule.
 
 I don't know that such a card exists, but I know no R/S1s can't do it.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          This makes sense to me, even if the TNB was done during the weapons fire
           | Posted: 14 July 2008 at 4:15pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  phase, e.g. with a marine to go and kill a weapons officer who is modifying
 the fire coming from a ship participating in the volley.
 
 The fighter, even though not combined with the ship it's played to, is not
 an independent unit (not a unit at all I would think) so can't be fired upon
 individually unless you have something that specifically gives you that
 ability.  Something like a shuttle eater perhaps?
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 14 July 2008 at 4:17pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |