| Author |  | 
      
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Hi all,
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 2:01am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I was just at Eric's site looking for specifics on what Pirate abilities are, but
 couldn't find anything specifically listed.
 
 Can anyone point me to a source, either a section in the rulebook, or in
 one of the GF's that says what being a pirate does for you?
 
 Thanks in advance.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          there is no specific ability that you get for being a pirate.
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 10:16am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 There are a bunch of cards that allow pirates to do special stuff. Steal their engagement is a common one.
 
 There is a reaction card (Pirate's Hook?) that allows you to discard a card from your opponent's hand if they cause the card this card is played to to be discarded (it's an ability card).
 
 There is Walking the Plank (don't recall what that does), plus a bunch of others.
 
 Check out Piracy, I know there are a bunch of stuff in there. ;)
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Essentially, "pirate" is just a keyword other cards play off.
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 4:37pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Walk the plank is the one that lets you discard a card from your opponents
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 5:30pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  hand.
 
 Pirates hook makes non-combat capable crew combat capable, and adds to
 their damage.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Another pirate question:
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 3:32pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Pirates all have Special Weapons Mounts on them.  Does that mean Pirates
 can use foreign tech like Vektreans or Bolaar can?  Or, do they have to
 have a card that lets them use foreign tech in the first place?
 
 Seems to me like Pirates should be able to use foreign tech without having
 to have an Alien Tech Expert or a Spy Tech.  Otherwise doesn't seem to be
 much value in being a Pirate.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 4:06pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
By the rules, no, Pirates don't automatically get to use Foreign Tech. In fact, the special ability of several of the Vinciennes Pirate Tribe  ships is that they can use Foreign Tech.| MogwaiSC wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Pirates all have Special Weapons Mounts on them.  Does that mean Pirates can use foreign tech like Vektreans or Bolaar can?  Or, do they have to
 have a card that lets them use foreign tech in the first place?
 |  |  |  
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 6:28pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| ericbsmith wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | By the rules, no, Pirates don't automatically get to use Foreign Tech. In fact, the special ability of several of the Vinciennes Pirate
 Tribe  ships is that they can use Foreign Tech.
 |  |  |  
 Hmm... this is something I didn't know.  Is there a source for this I can
 refer to?  If I try to do this in a game with our group, they'll try to deny me
 unless I have a concrete source.
 
 It is a nice thing to know, and makes the Vinciennes tribe a good match for
 Bolaar (I already have them as the minor in my Bolaar deck).  Since
 Violators are technically Vinciennes tribe as well, does this apply to
 violators too?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          A source for a rule that doesn't exist? Sorry, you need to turn it around and have them show you where the rules state that Pirates can use Foreign Technology. See the section under Equipment about Empire Specific Equipment, which describes Foreign, Exclusive, and Adapted Technology.
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 6:52pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Only the Vektreans and Bolaar, under their empire descriptions, are permitted to use Adapted Technology. No other place in the 2.0 rules are any other empires or class of cards allowed to use Adapted Technology. (this may be where the confusion comes from, since all Bolaar are considered Pirate cards)
 
 The Allied Empires were added to the list of empire which can use Adapted Technology on the rules insert which was in the AF Starters. Other empires need a card which specifically allows the use of Foreign or Exclusive Tech.
 
 
 
Since only some Vinciennes tribe ships have the rule allowing the use of Foreign Technology it can't possibly be classed as an empire ability, so even if you consider the Violators to be Vinciennes they wouldn't be allowed to use Foreign Tech. Though note that the Violator Chieftain Ecniv  "Allows 1 Violator tribe ship in the fleet to use Foreign and Exclusive Technology."| MogwaiSC wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Since Violators are technically Vinciennes tribe as well, does this apply to 
violators too? |  |  |  
 
 Edited by ericbsmith on 26 July 2008 at 7:26pm
 
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Obviously I didn't make myself clear...
           | Posted: 28 July 2008 at 12:04am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Where does it say that Vinciennes tribe ships can use foreign tech?  I know
 Ecniv allows it, but I haven't seen anything of the sort on the text of the
 Vinciennes ships (I haven't had my cards out in some time), or anywhere
 else.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          only the cards that say they can can.
           | Posted: 28 July 2008 at 2:41pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 It is not a tribe rule.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |