| Author |  | 
      
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          
           | Posted: 05 September 2010 at 3:48pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Simple Question:  The R/O8 Cessation of Time card states the following: -When played during an opponent's Draw Cards Phase that phase is ended -Prevents any and all card draws. -Placed at the bottom of the discard pile after use. My question:  Can this card ONLY by played during the Draw Cards Phase? | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -This is another poorly worded card. There are quite a few in the sets. Actually, i take that back. I don't have a problem with the wording so much as the structure of these card rules. When you read the FAQ and the rules, some card rule ordering matters when other times it doesn't. That lack of consistency is troublesome.
           | Posted: 05 September 2010 at 7:21pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 There may well be a meaning to making sure you don't draw cards AND you end the draw cards phase. There may be cards that take advantage of said phase, but i'm drunk and can't think of them right now.
 
 Presumably, it was meant to read something that meant prevents all card draws for the entirety of that player turn only, from the point of reaction to the end of that player turn.
 
 If it was meant to *only* be played during the Draw Cards phase, it should say that. Otherwise, unless it would severely disadvantage or ruin the group, i would say it can be played any time a reaction can be played, and the negation of card draws lasts for that player turn only.
 
 As anything, though, feel free to house rule away.
 
 Lobo, going back to cleaning up the kitchen
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Yeah, I think Lobo's right here.  it's not entirely clear from the wording.
           | Posted: 09 September 2010 at 10:06am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          It's poorly worded, yes, but still should be fairly obvious.  You play it
           | Posted: 12 September 2010 at 5:39pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  during your opponent's draw phase and they can't draw cards and
 their turn is over.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          this card works good, especially when some has a cyber mage and an alliance treaty(?) out there.
           | Posted: 12 September 2010 at 7:07pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          
           | Posted: 13 September 2010 at 4:27pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
turn or draw phase?| MogwaiSC wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | It's poorly worded, yes, but still should be fairly obvious. You play it during your opponent's draw phase and they can't draw cards and their turn is over. |  |  |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Draw phase is the last part of the turn, so both.
           | Posted: 13 September 2010 at 9:01pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 If you were to play outside of their draw phase, as it is worded, it
 would prevent them from drawing cards, but there really isn't
 anything else to do during draw phase, so it's pretty much moot.
 
 However, I suppose (again with the wording as it is) you could play
 it during Allocation phase to thwart someone buying cards with a
 Research Developer, as it does say "prevents any and all card
 draws".  Logically, that would mean it would stop their draws
 during draw phase as well in that case.
 
 Perhaps more powerful of a card than we had originally thought...
 
 How do I come up with this stuff? :-o
 
 Edited by MogwaiSC on 13 September 2010 at 9:06pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          
           | Posted: 14 September 2010 at 8:01am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
Years of practice?| MogwaiSC wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | How do I come up with this stuff? :-o |  |  |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Maybe just natural deviousness.  :D
           | Posted: 14 September 2010 at 4:47pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Well it's a good reason to make it a card you can't stock many of.  Maybe it should have been an o10 though...
           | Posted: 15 September 2010 at 8:51am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          It's all so subjective...  a lot of it depends on what the game context
           | Posted: 17 September 2010 at 3:40am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  is too... my research developer example above is a case in point.  In
 that situation you have very powerful card, but it does only work
 once, though it's like a discard equivalency, it goes to the bottom of
 the discard pile, so there are ways to recover it for reuse. :-o  In
 other situations, it might not be such a powerful card.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Even if all you do is prevent your opponent from drawing at end of turn it hurts a lot.  At least if they draw the maximum of cards they're allowed.
           | Posted: 17 September 2010 at 11:23am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Upon further reflection, it can be pretty nasty if you were to use
           | Posted: 17 September 2010 at 8:29pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  something like a temporal engineer and a cloning device.  You could
 pull it back from the discard pile and completely shut down an
 opponent's draws for as long as you can keep the temporal engineer
 alive.  That would be pretty devastating, even if you could only pull it
 off for a few turns.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          no, this poorly worded card is *ONLY* played during an opponent's draw cards phase.
           | Posted: 21 September 2010 at 11:03am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 There is probably errata somewhere in the GFs.
 
 Edited by Gekonauak on 21 September 2010 at 11:03am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Even then it's nasty....  >_<
           | Posted: 21 September 2010 at 11:37am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          I must admit that I am a bit surprised by the responses.  I guess the guys that felt all rules printed on a card (card function as indicated by a hypen- then the rule.  For example, a C9 Marauder says that it can do two of the following three functions (all of which show a hyphen and then the possible card function.)  If you are saying the card in question (R/O8 Cessation of Time) HAS to use the first card function on its card:   "WHEN played in an opponent's Draw Card Phase is ended."  - then I agree it is VERY poorly worded and should have read: "MUST be played during the opponent's Draw Card Phase". Instead, it says WHEN and then gives a totally different function, if the card owner chooses, of ending ANY and ALL card draws when played.  If this function is used, (it IS a reaction card remember), then any card draws an opponent was about to make come to end.
           | Posted: 21 September 2010 at 5:55pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Looking through all of the published FAQ (in print), I cannot find anything on this card.
           | Posted: 28 September 2010 at 12:22pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I know how the card was played, and how the card would be ruled if it was questioned during an official tournament.
 
 But, I can see a fair arguement if you are going by the "-" being a rule. Played in reaction the card has to perform a function, and the player should be able to choose the second function.
 
 It just was never played that way.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Ah, definately needs a ruling. ;)
           | Posted: 28 September 2010 at 12:34pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 29 September 2010 at 1:41am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| dizzydemon wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I must admit that I am a bit surprised by the responses.  I guess the guys that felt all rules printed on a card (card function as indicated by a hypen- then the rule.  For example, a
 C9 Marauder says that it can do two of the following three functions (all of which show a hyphen and
 then the possible card function.)  If you are saying the card in question (R/O8 Cessation of Time) HAS
 to use the first card function on its card:   "WHEN played in an opponent's Draw Card Phase is ended."
 - then I agree it is VERY poorly worded and should have read: "MUST be played during the opponent's
 Draw Card Phase". Instead, it says WHEN and then gives a totally different function, if the card owner
 chooses, of ending ANY and ALL card draws when played.  If this function is used, (it IS a reaction
 card remember), then any card draws an opponent was about to make come to end.
 |  |  |  
 This is how our group has played it, that anything with a hyphen in front of it is considered a card
 ability and that anything without is flavor text.
 
 Given the exact wording on the card, I agree it should be interpreted as being playable at any time
 during a turn, especially given there is no set convention that the first "ability" given on a card has to
 be used first.  If it is to be played only during your opponents draw phase, the wording should be
 appropriate to that.
 
 I guess this is another one that needs to go under the House Rules category...
 
 Of course, if this comes up the next time Galactus and I play GE, I'll bet a months pay it turns into a
 full blown argument! :-o  :-D
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          that sounds entertaining. :)
           | Posted: 29 September 2010 at 12:30pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 29 September 2010 at 4:40pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| marhawkman wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | that sounds entertaining. :) |  |  |  
 In retrospect, it can be...  Although when it's actually happening it
 seems sometimes like we have to restrain ourselves from looking for
 heavy things to throw... :D
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Well, feel free to use this post as a reference during the game.
           | Posted: 04 October 2010 at 10:39am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 MogwaiSC is always right and Galactus is always wrong.
 
 There that should solve all disputes, right?!?  :)
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          No, I doubt that. :p
           | Posted: 04 October 2010 at 1:32pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 06 October 2010 at 4:27pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Gekonauak wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Well, feel free to use this post as a reference during the game.
 
 MogwaiSC is always right and Galactus is always wrong.
 
 There that should solve all disputes, right?!?  :)
 |  |  |  
 Well, I wouldn't say ALWAYS...
 
 Just NEARLY ALWAYS.
 
 :-)
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Unless Galactus disagrees. :)
           | Posted: 12 October 2010 at 12:51pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 12 October 2010 at 2:49pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| marhawkman wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Unless Galactus disagrees. :) |  |  |  
 Never changes the outcome.  :D  He can dislike it all he wants; I'm
 still right most of the time... :-)
 
 Just read through the T/B vs planetary destruction thread, you'll get a
 sense for how he reacts to being wrong. LOL.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | marhawkman IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2010
 Posts: 250
 | 
          Delete the post to hide the evidence?
           | Posted: 13 October 2010 at 11:03am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 13 October 2010 at 8:44pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| marhawkman wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Delete the post to hide the evidence? 
 |  |  |  
 Something like that, yep.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          
           | Posted: 01 January 2011 at 2:35am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Thanks for the input all. Dizzy Demon | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Tarquon Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 January 2007
 Posts: 197
 | 
          Good luck finding something to react to in the draw cards phase.
           | Posted: 27 January 2011 at 10:56am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |