| Author |  | 
      
        | super jew Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 December 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 9
 | 
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 11:10am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  A luck demon gets played against a accelration time line but a reaseach delevepor who reacts to the luck demon does the delevpor effect take effect to the luck demon.It was played in reaction to the time line. The real question is a monster effect against the fleet on the delevpor . P>S> sorry for miss spellining   | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | super jew Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 December 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 9
 | 
          sorry 4 mispells.
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 11:12am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | super jew Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 December 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 9
 | 
          does the developer 2 effect take effect over luck demon b/c the accerrated time line was played from hand is the hand considered to be your fleet.
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 12:04pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Bump
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 6:10pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          Let me clarify for those of you in the cheap seats.
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 10:21pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 This happened this past weekend.
 
 Player A Played an Acc Timeline. Player B reacted with a Luck Demon.
 
 Player A had a Research Developer in Play, and said as a reaction, his Research Developer could negate one monster affect against the fleet each turn.
 
 Now the question at the heart of this is: While the Luck Demon isn't in play against Player A, its effect is. So, more simply, is the Luck Demon creating an affect against player A's fleet?
 
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Question Mark????? Bump Ole Timers IS any one out there?
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 6:25am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          The luck demon isn't played against a fleet, so I don't see why the research developer would be able to affect it.
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 7:52am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Also, the wording of the luck demon implies it is more of a 'state-based' effect, meaning it's not an active thing that can be negated.
 
 
 Edited by RobPro on 11 December 2007 at 7:53am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I believe we reprinted the Research Developer in Universe. Can I get his new wording?
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 8:24am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 8:56am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Gekonauak wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I believe we reprinted the Research Developer in Universe. Can I get his new wording? |  |  |  
 C-7 Research Developer
 When in play on a base, provides the following:
 -Every 7 points of research allocated to it allows the owning player to draw 1 card when the last point is allocated.
 -Points may not be applied outside of the Allocation Phase.
 -As a reaction, negates one monster effect against the fleet each turn.
 
 This is the Universe Edition, taken straight from a card in front of me.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          okay, now, before I give you my opinion... How did you guys resolve it?
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 11:06am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 What did you guys decide?
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Seems pretty clear to me...  The Luck Demon has its effect against a fleet,
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 11:23am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  even if the Demon is part of a different fleet.  That means that the
 Research Developer can negate the effect of the Luck Demon when it is
 used against the Developer's fleet.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Right, but the Luck Demon is still in play, and would affect the fleet again. How would a Research Developer affect a Space Penguin? It's the same kind of thing.
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 9:05pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Here is something to chew on: Galactic Fire #3 Page 4 Bottom of  page.         & nbsp;         & nbsp;         & nbsp;         & nbsp;         & nbsp;         & nbsp;         & nbsp;         & nbsp;           Misconception: Time skipping a location where a crew is being played will cause the crew to suck vacume and die in  space.                                                                                                                 Fact: Even played in reaction a card such as a time skip,when taking a card out of play will take any card in play on the card out of play as well. When a card goes out of play the stack goes. Once a card has been played it is in play even if it has not yet resolved an action.
           | Posted: 12 December 2007 at 6:02am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          We were forced, for the sake of extending the argument to an hours time, to resolve it in favor of the Research Developer.
           | Posted: 12 December 2007 at 6:25am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 So, go ahead and weigh in Geko.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Biegel Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 October 2007
 Location: Christmas Island
 Posts: 390
 | 
          Wolfie calling Gego. Bump
           | Posted: 12 December 2007 at 4:36pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Matchbox Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 April 2005
 Location: United States
 Posts: 118
 | 
          
           | Posted: 12 December 2007 at 10:34pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  ive always played it that the luck demon is not against a fleet, as was stated, so the C7 wouldnt take effect, BUT if there was a luck card, say, uhhh vaccuum effect against it, that would work because it is a reaction and would take effect before the luck demon would. | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          After Geko answers this question, I have a similar one.
           | Posted: 13 December 2007 at 12:35am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Would a B10 Science Academy stop the effects of a Space Penguin on the player who has it in play? Allowing that player and the one in regular turn order to take infinity turns in a row?
 
 I'll explain that idea tomorrow... me head tired write paper night all sleep.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          "Fact: Even played in reaction a card such as a time skip,when taking a
           | Posted: 13 December 2007 at 1:31am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  card out of play will take any card in play on the card out of play as well.
 When a card goes out of play the stack goes. Once a card has been
 played it is in play even if it has not yet resolved an action."
 
 See, this is what I was talking about in the other thread.  This is
 ridiculous, if the card says "discard after use", it doesn't stick around,
 it's action have been done and negated, therefore it should be discarded
 immediately.  I know there's a bunch of crap about this in GF2 and GF3,
 but nothing in GF3 says a card that is "discarded after use" sticks
 around.  What it does say in GF2 is that such cards remain in play until
 the end of the player turn and resolve their action at the end of the
 player turn, unless their action was negated when they were played.
 That means that they are discarded after you play a time skip or
 something against them.  This whole issue needs to be redone, it's an
 inherently and fundamentally flawed rule structure as it currently stands.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          sorry guys, I was off yesterday.
           | Posted: 13 December 2007 at 8:50am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 The C7 would suspend the Luck Demon. It would not discard it, but it would prevent it from effecting cards in the player's fleet.
 
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          
           | Posted: 13 December 2007 at 8:57am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| MogwaiSC wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | 
 See, this is what I was talking about in the other thread.  This is ridiculous, if the card says "discard after use", it doesn't stick around, it's action have been done and negated, therefore it should be discarded
 immediately.  I know there's a bunch of crap about this in GF2 and GF3, but nothing in GF3 says a card that is "discarded after use" sticks around.  What it does say in GF2 is that such cards remain in play until
 the end of the player turn and resolve their action at the end of the player turn, unless their action was negated when they were played.  That means that they are discarded after you play a time skip or
 something against them.  This whole issue needs to be redone, it's an inherently and fundamentally flawed rule structure as it currently stands.
 |  |  |  
 This is what I meant when I said that "Discard after use" was used way too often. It is not discarded after use, but discarded after its effect is done, this could be several rounds. Yes, cards with "discard after use" do stay in play until they have finished resolving and are then discarded.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Maybe *THAT* should be in the misconception thread. And, it definately should be made more clear in the rulebook.
           | Posted: 13 December 2007 at 8:58am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          The Space Penguin is another matter entirely.
           | Posted: 13 December 2007 at 1:53pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I would say that the B10 and C7 could not stop a penguin.
 
 Edited by Gekonauak on 14 December 2007 at 3:40pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          I would say the Researcher negates the luck demons effect.  The researcher doesn't negate a monster, just the effect.  The LD doesn't need to be against the fleet, but the effect is against the fleet.
           | Posted: 14 December 2007 at 3:09pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 14 December 2007 at 5:46pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| Eaglepreacher wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | I would say the Researcher negates the luck demons effect.  The researcher doesn't negate a monster, just the effect.
 The LD doesn't need to be against the fleet, but the effect is against the
 fleet.
 |  |  |  I support this view entirely.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          as for the space Penguin, after looking at the cards I would have to say there is a fine line there.  Neither the B10 nor the C7 affect the peguin.  While they do affect the fleet, the effect is against the fleet.  Think of the war in Iraq, while it does affect you, it isnt against you, but if you were there in Iraq it would be both.
           | Posted: 14 December 2007 at 10:53pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          But the LD doesn't say "As a reaction, take control of any luck card just played." It says it gets them, it's a static ability. I don't think you could negate that, and if you could the LD would just try to take control of it again.
           | Posted: 15 December 2007 at 4:42pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 This is why the B10 could stop the LD, the LD affects the fleet and the B10 will have none of that. It's not a 'single' effect, it's constant.
 
 The Penguin also affects the fleet, in the same way the LD does. It has a static, game-state ability. If I have a B10 out, the next person plays a penguin and then it comes to my turn, the turn would progress back to that person and create an infinite loop.
 
 I'm not saying I'm right (and I'm not saying I want to start a fight), but I'd like it if you could put in rules quotes that answer these points. From looking at the cards, I don't see how I'm wrong.
 
 
 Edited by RobPro on 15 December 2007 at 4:43pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          C-7 Research Developer:
           | Posted: 15 December 2007 at 11:38pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 
 When in play on a base, provides the following: -Every 7 points of
research allocated to it allows the owning player to draw 1 card when
the last point is allocated. -Points may not be applied outside of the
Allocation Phase. -As a reaction, negates one monster effect against
the fleet each turn.
 
 R/L-9 Luck Demon:
 
 
 -All luck cards played by opponents on their own fleets may instead be
immediately played by the player possessing the most recently played luck
demon in play. -All luck cards played by opponents against the fleet
are ignored (discarded) unless the luck demon player wants it played
there. -Destroyed by research equal to its strength.
 
 Verc is right. While the Luck Demon IS a static effect, in reality, if he plays a luck card, the Luck Demon would then EFFECT his fleet, and the Research Developer would negate that effect.
 
 
 Edited by werewolflht65 on 15 December 2007 at 11:44pm
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          Posting card text != explaining anything.
           | Posted: 15 December 2007 at 11:41pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          My point is the Luck Demon is effecting your fleet -regardless- of any luck cards being played. It does not have something that activates or triggers, it is constant. The LD's wording 'All luck cards' implies this.
           | Posted: 17 December 2007 at 9:13am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 If it had said 'may take 1 luck card,' then I would say the Developer would stop it.
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | werewolflht65 Exalted
 
  
 
 Joined: 08 October 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 780
 | 
          
           | Posted: 17 December 2007 at 10:48am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| RobPro wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | My point is the Luck Demon is effecting your fleet -regardless- of any luck cards being played. It does not have something that activates or triggers, it is constant. The LD's wording 'All luck cards' implies this. 
 If it had said 'may take 1 luck card,' then I would say the Developer would stop it.
 
 |  |  |  
 No, sorry. Doesn't work. Basically, the RD allows, as a reaction, the controlling player to ignore the effects of a Luck Demon for a complete turn.
 
 
 __________________
 "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |