| Author |  | 
      
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          
           | Posted: 25 July 2008 at 10:57am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  Seemingly meaningless text...?  The P6 Commandant lists the following rules. 
When in play on a base of = or < strength, the base protects the psy network. 
The Base must be destroyed before the commandant can be attacked with weapon damage.  The second rule seems odd to me... If my Psy is on a base that is destroyed isn't he destroyed? The bit about attacking my P6 after destroying the base he is sitting on seems like useless text. The only way I can see that it matters is if this 'stack' occurs. 
Lobo, who wants to destroy my P6, announces a lethal volley of damage against the base he is played to. 
I react to the volley with one of the shuttlecrafts that allows me to move the psy and announce my intent to move him to a different base. 
Lobo doesn't react and my P6 is now on a new base that Lobo must completely destroy before he can target my psy. The line about attacking the Psy still seems a waste of time. If at any time the base my psy is on is destroyed and I don't react to move him doesn't he get discarded? Does this card need errata? (considering trying a Psy deck one more time). J-- 
 Edited by Galaktische on 25 July 2008 at 10:58am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | rlpowell Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 September 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 28
 | 
          My last post actually asked the same question.  :D
           | Posted: 25 July 2008 at 11:03am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 What it means is that the P6 can't be targetted directly whilst he's on the base.  Normally, a P gets the base's shields, but can still be targetted directly.  If the P6 is on a B9, you'd rather target the P6, but with the Commandant you can't.
 
 -Robin
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 3:10pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| rlpowell wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | My last post actually asked the same question. :DWhat it means is that the P6 can't be targetted directly whilst he's on
 the base.  Normally, a P gets the base's shields, but can still be targetted
 directly.  If the P6 is on a B9, you'd rather target the P6, but with the
 Commandant you can't.-Robin
 
 |  |  |  
 This is exactly correct as far as I know.  Since Psy's protect their Network
 like ships protect their SHQ, they can be targeted with weapons-fire
 from ships and other units (Dragons, Orgons, Monsters, (not saying
 monsters are units)), etc.  In the case where the Psy is on the base, it
 can be targeted separately from the base but since on the base is
 protected by the shields of the base, but not its structure.
 
 This makes B3 Heavy Planetary Shields and the R/B2 Planetary Shield
 promo card highly useful and valuable for Psy decks.  Also, it's virtually
 impossible to build an effective Psy deck that doesn't also use ships or
 something else that will block damage to the Network.  People tend to
 target Psy decks right from turn 3 because if you let them build they'll
 kill you, and everyone else on the board.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          I have a deep dark feeling that the Commandant was the victim of some rules changes regarding Psy cards.
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 4:15pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Oh, and Ships don't protect the Psy Network - only (P) Psy cards do. This makes ships almost useless in a Psy deck (especially since they can only use Generic ships - they can't support minor empire ships). However, bases are doubly valuable because their shilds not only protect the Psy's but they also protect the Terrain which Fields must be played to.
 
 
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Eric,
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 6:25pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Can you point to the section of the rules that says ships don't protect a
 Psy Network?  I don't recall ever seeing such a thing in the rules.  We've
 always played that while Psy's can only use generic ships they still protect
 the Network.  Seems odd to me they wouldn't.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | rlpowell Acolyte
 
  
 
 Joined: 14 September 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 28
 | 
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 6:35pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
| MogwaiSC wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Eric, 
 Can you point to the section of the rules that says ships don't protect a
 Psy Network?  I don't recall ever seeing such a thing in the rules.  We've
 always played that while Psy's can only use generic ships they still protect
 the Network.  Seems odd to me they wouldn't.
 |  |  |  
 I'm not Eric, but this like the 3rd line in the Psy Rules section;  http://galacticempires.no-ip.org/GE/GErulesv21.html#PsyRules
 
 
 
| Quote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | PSY NETWORK: The Psy Network is functionally similar to the Sector HQ in most respects but note the following:
 - 25 points of damage to the Psy Network knocks that player out of the game.
 - Only 'P' psy cards protect the Psy Network; ships, bases, dragons etc. do not.
 
 |  |  |  
 Edited by rlpowell on 26 July 2008 at 6:36pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          There are a few cards that allow other things (bases/ships) to protect the Psy JNetwork but in general only the Psys protect it otherwise.
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 10:52pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 I think tomorrow I may start a Psy strategy post over in the Startegy forum.
 
 I'm curious how other people play them if at all.
 
 J--
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          In fact, the E8 Psy Relay allows a Terrain to protect the Psy Network. Throw that on a T5 Earth and watch your opponents get pissed at you.
           | Posted: 27 July 2008 at 8:14pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 (Earth is a really good card to throw in your Psy decks anyway - it allows you to play a few of your more important Fields with no chance that your opponent can get rid of them)
 
 
 
 Edited by ericbsmith on 27 July 2008 at 10:36pm
 
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          That makes me think you'd want to use A7 Defended Territory as well...
           | Posted: 28 July 2008 at 12:01am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  put one on a terrain the psy relay is on, and then watch people get really
 pissed...
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          this is why Psy decks are only viable in duels.
           | Posted: 28 July 2008 at 2:46pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  |