| Author |  | 
      
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 02 February 2009 at 12:44pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  The card reads -May only be played on a stack totaling more than 20 strength points. -Causes the stack to be discarded. -Placed at the bottom of the discard pile. If I have a T4 reactonary world with an A10 Artificial Landmass and a C1 Science officer...is the terrain stack over 20 or is it 15 and cannot be spindled? Dan 
 Edited by Blacklassie on 07 February 2009 at 10:03am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          I'm assuming that one of the other cards increases the crew's strength?
           | Posted: 02 February 2009 at 1:27pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Even if the stack goes over the 20 point mark, a frayed time spindle would still not be able to effect the card stack. See rules on T4 Reactionary World.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 02 February 2009 at 1:35pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  OK what if it is a different T4?...I guess the main question is does the artificial landmass count as making the terrain 20 for spindle purposes or do you go by the printed total of ten plus 4 for the terrain and 1 for the crew for 15? Dan | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          it would be the modified total.
           | Posted: 02 February 2009 at 1:43pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 In theory... the terrain would be 20 + 10 for the Articficial Landmass + 1 for the crew
 
 total: 31
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Eaglepreacher IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 21 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 573
 | 
          I would concur with geko assessment... the stack is 31
           | Posted: 07 February 2009 at 6:53am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 07 February 2009 at 9:56am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  If a stack has a reactionary world that cannot be affected by time cards ,plus a Corporate S9 with an E9 shroud and a C6 Cybermage on the ship, can a Spindle be played on the ship stack ignoring the reactionary world and removing the rest? Or does the whole stack have to be considered? Dan 
 Edited by Blacklassie on 08 February 2009 at 2:14pm
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          It depends on the wording of the Reactionary World. If you look at Chronos, you see the whole stack is protected, which includes stacks on the stack, so if Reactionary World is worded the same way, it works the same way.
           | Posted: 08 February 2009 at 1:15pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Blacklassie Adept
 
  
 
 Joined: 19 December 2003
 Location: United States
 Posts: 99
 | 
          
           | Posted: 08 February 2009 at 2:15pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  You are right..the T4 reactionary world states the stack is not affected by time cards. Thanks Dan | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Yes, it is the entire stack that is not affected.
           | Posted: 09 February 2009 at 9:44am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          You put a cybermage on a ship!?
           | Posted: 18 March 2009 at 8:16pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Why?
 
 I'd put her on a Chronos or at least a Galactic Trade World.  Toss in a B3
 Heavy Planetary Shield or Dog House for extra protection.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -Shrouds > Bases.
           | Posted: 19 March 2009 at 7:47am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 And no, i'm not going to explain or discuss it at all. I just think it's better protection than on *most* planets. So there nyah...
 
 Lobo
 
 
 Edited by Lobo on 19 March 2009 at 8:00am
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | MogwaiSC IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 20 January 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 903
 | 
          Yeah, I get your point; an E9 Shroud is a fearsome thing.  I'm fond of
           | Posted: 19 March 2009 at 11:26pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  pairing them up with an E9 Future Ship; lets you use the Shroud on
 anything.  Especially nice on a Bolaar Flagship with a Bolaar Pirate Captain;
 engages the Shroud for free. :grin:
 
 Still, even with the Shroud, there are things that won't have a problem with
 it.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | dizzydemon Devoted
 
  
 
 Joined: 05 July 2006
 Location: United States
 Posts: 43
 | 
          
           | Posted: 29 March 2009 at 1:14pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  I can't seem to post a new topic so this will have to do.  Question involving the Scorpead Comet of Lore and use of a Time Spindle.  As Blacklassie quoted from the card above, the spindle states it discards stacks that are in excess of 20 strength points.  The Comet states: "Played to another terrain card, this comet is discarded only when that terrain is destroyed. Any one Scorpead . . . Does not add its strength to the terrain's. Let's say a player had a T9 planet, a T8 Base on that T9 and the Scorpead comet of Lore on the T9 also. Now the question is in the wording "strength points".  Which takes place? The stack is discarded or the stack is not over strength 20 therefore the spindle can't be played on it I will be interested in hearing your opinions . . . | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Galaktische IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 27 June 2007
 Posts: 354
 | 
          The stack is clearly more than 20 points... the spindle
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 10:35am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  discards the stack.
 
 J--
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          T9 + T7 + B8 = 24 strength points.
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 10:59am | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 over 20, so it is discarded.
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Lobo IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 04 July 2007
 Location: United States
 Posts: 533
 | 
          -As discussed elsewhere, since the Spindle plays to a "stack" it includes everything in that pile regardless of whether it actually combines with anything or not. So you total the bases, terrain(s), crew, equipment, french fries, potato salad, Guiness, and that cute waitress' phone number.
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 1:06pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 Greater than 20, we have a winner!
 
 Nah, seriously, i agree with G&G.....Lobo
 
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | Gekonauak IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2006
 Posts: 1595
 | 
          Now, one could indeed argue the fact that the L8 would be a part of the stack, therefore adding eight to the total.
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 1:44pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  | 
       
        | Back to Top |     | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | RobPro IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 10 May 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 835
 | 
          I agree with what has been said. While the Scorpead comet isn't combining with any terrain in the stack, it is still part of the stack.
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 8:08pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
 And the Time Spindle adding to the stack would be kind of a cheaty loophole. :P
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  | 
        | ericbsmith IRC
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 October 2004
 Location: United States
 Posts: 321
 | 
          
           | Posted: 30 March 2009 at 8:19pm | IP Logged |   |  
           | 
 |  
Not successfully ;-) The Spindle says it is "played against a stack that is more than 20 Strength" - The spindle doesn't become part of the stack until is is sucessfully played to it, so for the Stack to be a viable target for the Spindle in the first place it must already have 21+ Strength before the spindle is played to it.| Gekonauak wrote: 
 
    
    | 
      
       | Now, one could indeed argue the fact that the L8 would be a part of the stack, therefore adding eight to the total. |  |  |  
 
 __________________
 Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
 
   
 | 
       
        | Back to Top |       | 
       
       
        |  |